The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

The statement asserts that a great political leader is not someone who has good skills or abilities, a great leader is the one who has faced problems and challanges and prevailed. In my opinion I do agree with the author of the statement. The skills a person inherit or the abilities he has, doesn't do any good, if they are not used in the battlefield of politics.

Who is a leader? A leader is a person people choose to represent them, to champion them, a leader is a person who takes the right decisions, and leads them to the right path, a leader is a person who fights, and faces challenges for the sake of his people, deals with enigmatic issues on behalf of his people. Of course, skills and abilities are important for a leader, to lead his people, but the more important thing for a leader is the courage and determination to work for his people, to fight for his people.

A political leader is neeeded to be astute enough to face and solve difficult problems, to deal with various problems. A national leader, The prime minister of a country, for instance, has to deal with many situations, national problems, like proper election, situations with national economy, and also international situations, like business deals with other countries, or very sensitive issues like dealing with refugees entering from neighbouring countries. To deal with these various kinds of difficult problem, people do need a leader who is wise enough to deal with them.

However, it is also a matter of fact that, if the person who's supposed to lead a nation, the people of the nation, is he willing to face those challenges? Or, is he just focused on his career as a politician, who is just another person working for himself to be in a position of power? If he is, then These kind of people can not be called a great leader.

So, just having skills does not make anyone a great leader. A great leader is the person who is willing to use those skills to lead his people, to fight, to face challenges for his people. Just a look back on history can tell us that the perceived greatness of a polititical leader has more to do with the works they did, the sacrifices they made for their people. Nelson Mandela is a great leader, Martin Luther King is great leader, Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman is great leader. They fought for their people went to jail, even risked their lives for their country, for their people. This is why people remembers them, respects them, idlizes them.

In conclusion, I have to say that skills, abilities, and acumen is needed to be a leader, to face various kinds of difficult situations. But the willingness to face those problems is also necessary, that's what makes a great leader. A great warrior is the not the one with good swordsmanship, a great warrior is the one who won fought great wars with courage.