Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this statement argues that Omega graduates have not been as successful as Alpha university at securing jobs because of the evaluation process of the professors at Omega university. And so he recommends that the evaluation process of the Omega professors should be terminated. This argument of his is very much flawed and based on several unwarrented assumptions.

First of all, The author mentions about a "new" procedure that was implemanted at the Omega University fifteen years ago and unfairly assumes that this method is still effective at the university without any evidence. Fifteen years is a long time, and a lot can happen in a long time.So, unless the author provides proper and conclusive evidence to verify this assumption, there's nothing to support this claim of the author.

Additionally, the author also assumes that the professors at the Omega university have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and this is the reason overall student grade average at Omega university have risen up to 30 percent. But he provides no evidence that the professors have been assigning higher grades or or no data or statistics about the results of the students. Perhaps, the professors are not assigning good grades, perhaps the students are studying hard to get a good results because of the problems they are facing at getting jobs. If This scenerio is true, then the author claim about the professors grading or the improvement of the result does not hold water.

The author also assumes that the reason why the students are not being able to secure jobs is the grading method of the professors and the sudden improvement of the results. But there is no evidence to support that assumption. Perhaps the Omega graduates have good results but does not have some other qualities which are required to secure the jobs they trying for. No information and evidence os provided about the jobs, and the requirements of the employers by the author, so there's no way to be sure why the Omega graduates are failing to secure those jobs.

Finally, the author compares the graduates and their success rate with another university named Alpha university. Yet, he provides no information about Alpha university and unfairly assumes that they are similar. But there's a possibility that this is not the case. Perhaps, the graduates of Alpha university are more successful at securing jobs, because they are better candidates for these jobs, and they inherit the qualities the emoloyers are looking. Unless the author provides any information about Alpha university, we have no way to know that both the universities and their graduates are similar or not.

In conclusion, I have to say that the authors statement is quite flawed and based on a lot of unwarrented assumptions, without any conclusive evidence. Unless, proper evidence are provided to support these assumptions, the authors recommendations of teminating the student evaluation of the professors at Omega university can not be accepted