“The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Environmental pollution is one the most greatest problems right now, it is even a threat to the habitability of earth and the survival of mankind. The statement says that to solve environmental problems caused by waste is to impose limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household. Superficially it seems a good plan, but in my opinion just imposing a limit on the amount of trash acceptance will not do much good in the long run.

First of all, one of the problem with this plan is that limiting how much trash will be accepted will not reduce the amount of trash produced. Consumers will consume, trash will be produced. The plan that author suggested is just to ignoring the fact that these trash even exists, if it crosses the limits. This will not be helpful to the city or the people, or the environment. People will have to get rid of those surfeit of trash, that the city did not accepted because apparently the limit has exceeded. They will just throw them away if itgets too problematic. And if this happens it will only execerbate the situation, because of not going through the process proper disposal of the trash.

In my opinion I think that loooking for a better solution like increasing public awareness, researching for the developement of the disposal process to make it more efficient, recycling, or even imposing fine to control the waste would be of much more help than the method that the author suggested.

If the people are more aware of the danger of these trashes, and the risk it poses on the environment, they will be more careful with the wastes they produce. This will help even if a little bit with the situation. And if it is not, then the more effective method would be establishing law to fine or punish people who does not follow the laws with waste production and disposal. It seems a bit harsh, but it is for the greater good. If the environment becomes more polluted that will be a much more harsh situation for humans.

Also there should be more research on how to get rid of the trash and waste while keeping the pollution at it's minimum. There are seven billion people on earth, we can not just expect that by not accepting the trash we will be able to get rid of these problems. Recycling, and using biodegradable materials would of much help to deal with this situation. Recycling will help us by reducing the production of waste, and biodegradables will be helpful if we can use them to replace plastics and polyethenes because degradable materials will be much easier to dispose of, and this will also lessen the pollution of environment.

In conclusion I'd like to say that the process that the author suggested could worsen the situation we are in right now, let alone being helpful to solve environmental problems. Instead, we should work on how to lessen the amount of waste, and if it is not possible than how to at least get rid of them without endangering the environment, and keeping the pollution as low and controlled possible.