7 The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The board of directors of Monarch Books recommended that in the store a cafe should be opened by discontinuing the children's books section. Because in their opinion the cafe will attract more customers and according to the most recent national consensus there is a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. This recommandation of their's is flawed and based on several unwarranted assumptions.

First of all, the author suggests that the store has a loyal group of customers, but it does not clearly state the customers chracteristics properly. We do not know if the customers are adults, or teenagers, or children. We do not know anything about their preferences. Perhaps those customers who come to the stores comes strictly to by books, if this is true establishing a cafe would not be of any help to the store's profit.

Additionally, there is no guarantee that opening a cafe would attract more new customers. The store is popular and widely known as a book store, for instance if there is a popular cafe in the area, there is a very little possibility that people would not prefer a new one over the widely known, well reputed cafe.

In the recommendation, the board also suggest that they should make space for the cafe by discontinuing the childrens books section, because they think that it will become less popular. The made this assumption based on the most recent national census, which shows a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. But Making this decision based on the national census would not be wise. The preferable data would be the populalation percantages of the city MOnarch Books is, or to be more precise, the information about the population of the are of the store would be more helpful. Decline of the population of population under age ten in the national census does not mean that there is also a decline in the city or the area, it is even possible that the population increased in that area, and there is a chance that the popularity of the children section would even increase. If that scenerio is true, they would be discontinuing their about to be popular section, to make a cafe which has no guarantee will be successful.

The board also mentions Regal books that recently opened a cafe, and to compete with that store they recommended to establish a cafe of their own, but they did not mention any useful information about that store, like what is it's location, what kinds of customers they have, literally nothing. Thinking that Both of this cafe are similar without any proper evidence would be an unwarranted assumption. Perhaps the area they are in, the customer they have prefers a cafe in the store. That does not mean that the customers of Monarch will also prefer a cafe, let alone attracting additional customers. We are provided with no information of both store's location, or their customers, or those customer's preferances.

In conclusion, I'd like to say that this decision, or recommendation of the board is very much flawed. The board of directors based their recommendation on quite a few unwarranted assumptions. They did not provide any evidence that could support, or even be used to evaluate their recommendation like the information about the population of their area, the characteristics of the store's customers, or information about the store they are trying to compete with. Without These evidences it is not possible to reach any decisions about the recommendation of establishing a cafe.