Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Emotion aroused when a beloved celebrity is flung down to the ground because of a single scandal is bitter. We wanted this person to proceed his or her career, developing potentials further and reaching for the happy ending of his or her personal story. The aggregation of such bitterness surely has positive side: public can reallocate the fame, wealth, and popularity they can bestow to more right ones by correcting their perspectives on the candidates. However, we should not forget that it is not always the case that a correction always means the definite solution.

The most important characteristic of scandal---and most useful one--- is to debunk doubling lives of hypocrats. They often belie their stink personalities by limiting their appearances on camera. Scandals punish them by revealing their lies. For instance, Clinton, once the most popular president in the United States historically, suffered from the scandal that he had oral sex with his secretary; he denied at first, but followin evidence made him confess his inappropriate misdemeanor as the president. People in the country realized that he is, and has not been a person they have thought, and they took the support for the president back. The justice was achieved warning post presidents to carefully manage their private lives. Like this example, celebrities sometimes make a wrong decision between what they are expected to do and what they want to do. The existence of scandals deter them from undesirable behaviors ex ante.

Also, scandals often generates new stars, who are to get the resources from people. Hillary Clinton, the first lady of the president Clinton, dealt with the hard time because of his husband with gut and decency, and people were moved by her strong mind. After the scandal was somewhat settled, she got famous than any other female politicians, showing her abilities as a politician, administrators, and mother. Though the scandal was the harshest moment for her entire life, it was also the chance for her to grow as an independent politician. As a result, she got elected as the presidential candidate of Democratic Party for the presidential election in 2017. She did not become the first female president of the United States, but the case shows that the right reallocation from a scandal can change the history of country.

As shown above, scandals have power. Unfortunately, such power often becomes a target for conniving people who want to manipulate the aggregate opinion of people. In Korea, private life is sometimes used to phasing political enemies away. Jungang Daily, one of the biggest daily journal in Korea, intentionally leaked false information about the leader of prosecutor, Dongwhan Kim, now a private lawyer. The journal claimed that he had a son born outside the marital relationship, and regardless of the truth of the scandal he had to resign from his position. Though it was proved that the scandal was groundless, his career was doomed and no one believes that he can come back to the prosecutor office again. This sort of side effect of scandals would occur wherever incentives exist, alerting us to be vigilant to distinguish between fake and legitimate kinds of scandals.

We might benefit from scandals which reveal the true characteristics of celebrated people; we might offend innocent people by condemning them with false stories. What we have to do is, take a moment to figure out the truth and use the information for justice, not for gossip.