The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth i

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions regarding the decision of the manager of WWAC radio station to change the radio's traditional rock-music style. Taken as whole, these assumptions, if not true, seriously undermine the argument validity and puts doubt on the impact that such manager's decision would have in reverse the decline on the radio's audiance.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide any evidence that the retired people moving to the radio's coverage area don't like rock-music. For one, rock has emerged mainly in the 60s to 80s decades, probably when the today's elderly people were just teanagers. Moreover, almost all the most influencing rock bands are formed by elderly from that decades, which can be an important factor influencing retired people preference to rock-music. Bearing these in mind, there are no rational reasons to anticipate that the retired population would not enjoy rock-music without a comprehensive research on the effective preferences of these people.

The argument still leaves some other questions unanswered. For example, it sugests that the decline in local sales of recorded music would indicate people's lack of interest in music. However, this drop in sales could merely be a consequence of the raising of new forms of consuming audio material, as for example via audiostreaming platforms. Indeed, such wrong causality assumption makes the argument flawed, suggesting that further invastigation on the new residents interest in music should be conducted to support the radio manager in its decision.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that a good approach for the future of the WAAC radio station would be changing its program to focus on te popular news and talk format. Nevertheless, no information is provided to sustent the idea that this movement would impact positively the radio's audiance. As a recent and popular style that has largely been explored by TV channels and other radio stations, it can be a great challenge for WAAC to survive on such hard competition environment. Furthermore, the argument does not inform the impact that this changing could be in the current WAAC audiance.

To sum up, because the argument holds its basis in many unproven assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that giving up his rock-music traditional style to move for a news and talk format should benefits WAAC radio by boosting its audiance.