The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author is arguing that WWAC radio station should change their music genre to fit with the new comers in that area. The author continues as WWAC should change to a news and talk format to adapt to the region as music sales have dropped in the region. While tempting at first glance, the author is assuming unwarranted premises, which may not end up with the conclusion that the author is suggesting. We need to evaluate some argument of the author to find out the author’s claim is supported.

First, the author is arguing that the newcomers to the region, which is mostly retired people, will not enjoy rock music so that the station should change their genre, other than current rock music. While the author is assuming that retired person is likely to hate rock music, there is no specific evidence that shows they are not the fan of rock music; retired people may enjoy rock. We need to survey those new, retired people who came to this region about their music preferences. We need more details about this population so that we can rightfully guess their preferences. The claim that the author is making should be dependent on these information, not on just unstated assumption that the author is claiming.

Second, the author is arguing that the decline of music sales in the region is an indicator that people are less listening to music. This, however, is not a warranted reasoning; there are other possibilities that actually have lowered the music purchase, but people are still willing to listen to the music. There are other means that people can listen to music, as technology has developed and new social media and smart phones can give a person to access to music. Then, it would be unwise to conclude that the music needs in the region had declined as the author is suggesting. If people have interest in music but the station changes to talk shows and news, there is no guarantee that people will listen to the station. What they need to do is to is to find out what people in that region are listening to and to which device that they are using to do so; whether the music preference is actully low in that region.

Last but not least, even if we admit that people hate rock and they have less interest in music, to change into talk shows may not be an adequate option for the station. People might have less interest in radio itself. There are so diverse means to listen and watch through phones and computers as there are more providers. The author is assuming that people are still willing to listen to radio, while they are not just interested in music radio. The other radio station’s situation may or may not equal to the WWAC. They might provide other sources to listen so that they can be popular around the region. We need to see every aspect of situation, not to simply change the format into talk shows and news. Moreover, we do not know whether WWAC, which specialized music radio even has the capacity to broadcast news and talk shows. The devices and studios that such formats require may or may not be same as music radio. If such change is not likely, for they might need more manpower and resources, sudden change will not be beneficial for WWAC. We need to consider all those facts, while the author had not proved about these facts. These new facts are needed to evaluate the author’s claim is legit.

In conclusion, there are several unanswered assumptions and unprovided evidence so that the author’s claim may turn out to be true. We need to answer all those questions and data so that we can be sure that WWAC can gain more listeners, the situation that the author is hoping for.