Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The effects of government funding of the arts have long been a controversial issue. Some would argue that government funding of the arts has been beneficial for the flourishing artistic creation, which would be, in turn, helpful for public goods; on the other hand, others may argue that it has been merely used as a tool for propaganda or the pleasure of the few wealthy and powerful. In my opinion, the government should provide sufficient funds not only for the realization of artistic inspiration of the young artists but also to allow the general public to be able to access to the great artworks or performances. The salutary effects of art on society should not be overlooked at the coast of pragmatic pursues.

In communist nations, artists have been considered as a tool for the idolization of their supreme leader assuming that artists are merely the servant of the few in power. History witnessed that art has in possession of those who have the privilege to enjoy an extravagant lifestyle. Since most artists' income sources were from the wealthy and powerful, their integrity of art has been frequently questioned.

Over the past century, the development of technology has come to make more emphasis on engineering education, and thus the values of art education have been overshadowed by occupational education. It is not too difficult to find high schools that already replaced art classed with other subjects related to engineering or business. However, a lack of prominent artists would suffer the absence of creative energy that plays a key role in boosting creativity. When consumers want to buy a product, what they first consider is not its quality but its design and beauty. Without the government's supporting funds for art education, students are prevented from developing their sense of beauty, and this will result in economic failure in a near future. Thus, governments should support art education so it can contribute to raising more future artists.

Furthermore, art is an indispensable commodity in terms of mental relief and expression of thought, which is essential. Therefore, the importance of any other practical field of study should not overshadow that of art. There can be people who may argue that there are better ways for the government to spend money such as for the welfare of people. However, there has been a great disparity in providing equal opportunities for the appreciation of great art. In order to increase public facilities such as museums and performance halls can be facilitated and maintained. In a modern democratic society, art should not be the only possession of the privileged class.

From the preceding discussion, it can be concluded that the importance of government funding in art cannot be overemphasized. In this materialistic age, even the art forms are not free to enjoy, thus, governments should provide a substantial amount of funds so that everyone can benefit from the beauty of nature and human mind, I would say it would be a utopian nation where artists flourish and any layman is able to access artistic masterpieces.