Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

What to teach to students is probably one of the most important, while endlessly debated argument in education history. There have been diverse arguments relating to this argument and for some countries or providences, there had been experimental designs to prove which methods could end better for the students. It is the students that matters the most in this case. For some, as argued in the argument, they argue that it would be wise to teach based on the feedback from the students. Yes, that is true. We need feedbacks in most cases. However, I contend that while we should listen to the voices from students, that voice alone should not be the only feedback that the educators are listening to: The only feedback could yield in dangerous result at last.

First, I would argue that we should, in some perspective, from the students. It is the students who are participating in education, and if the listener, the students, have something to say to the educators, then we must take some aspect from them. The curriculum may not fit with the students, it may be too hard for them or too easy for them. They might want other selective classes that they are interested in. There is no legit reason for more education. This as mentioned in the reason part of the argument, can motivate the students to learn more. However, this should not be the only feedback to the educators. This is one of them.

Students alone are not the only ones that are participating in education system. Parents are also other important part of education as they are caring their children back at home. Students are not entirely occupied in schools Even private prep schools have vacations. Students also learn from families and parents are overseeing students back at home to see what students have learned from the school and they are having progress with it. They might have their views which may and may not separate with the view from the students themselves. Many students may or may not know what to learn, as they cannot sometimes objectively evaluate themselves. Moreover, parents might have their tendencies or their own views what to teach for their students; they are their children, they do have rights. However, this should not be the only feedback that the educators have to listen because they are not experts, and they can also lack objectivity of evaluating their children.

Thus, we need to listen to diverse voices that are participating in education system. Educators, while they might be better than students and their parents, must listen to the experts who are majoring and researching on setting courses. Theories are always changing, as academia is like the war or in a better sense the field of finding out better theories. For example, Newton’s physics was entirely right before the new finding from Einstein. Theories are changing. We therefore must listen to the experts what to teach. What we have learned is not perfect and thus we need updates and feedbacks from others, especially who study the curriculums for the students. Former theories are former because they have some fault within them. We need constant updates.

In conclusion, we need to listen to diverse aspects of actors that are participating in education system. One factor alone will not bring the wanted brilliant result that we are seeking for. Of course, there is no one who want their students, their children, even oneself to fail in the education system. However, as we are the ones who may not evaluate ourselves in a objective manner and need updates from further knowledge from the ones who are doing their jobs. While we need feedback from others, that source should be diverse so that we can evaluate ourselves properly. One biased feedback may end in a catastrophic ending. Moreover, we need to update our knowledge as knowledge is always expanding and scholars are studying hard to yield new discovery in academia. We should listen to many as possible, including students, of course.