The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less

time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were

concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us.

Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising

revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The business manager of a television station makes an interesting argument that late-night news has increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news and that made the television station less lucrative. His/her argument depends on the fact that most of complaints were about coverage of weather and local news. Moreover, because local businesses that advertised during late-night news program has canceled their advertising contracts with the station, the business manager assumes that the local businesses are rejecting contract renewal due to the decrease in time of weather and local news. This argument, however, did not fully exploit specific details and thus is far-fetched to be true.

The First detail that needs to be answered is whether most complaints related to the station's coverage of weather and local news are related to the late-night news program. The station may have several news programs that cover weather and local news. If there were no complaints about late-night news program, then it would be unnecessary for the station to change the contents of late-night news program. Moreover, the manager is assuming that the station has changed the contents of late night news over the past year, and the complaints are from similar time period, all complaints are related to the late night news program. However, this may and may not be the case as similar time interval alone does not guarantee that these two care closely related. We need to see who and to what program that the viewers are not satisfied.

Secondly, we need to see the detail of reason for the cancellation of local businesses for the advertisement of late-night news. While the manager is assuming that they have canceled advertisements because of less time in weather and local news, we need to investigate that led those companies to decline the renewal of advertisements. They might be in a deadlock in their businesses, and they might not have enough cash for the renewal. The reason for the cancellation may lie on the side of businesses, not lie on the late night news. Moreover, there could be other companies that want to contract with the station. If there are alternative advertisements, then there would be no harm to the station and the late night news.

Last but not least, we need to know the exact situation of the late night news program. The only evidence given by the business manager is that the station is having complaints regarding station's coverage of weather and local news and local businesses are rejecting advertisement contract with the station. However, these facts alone do not let us know what current situation of the late night news program. What we need exactly is how many viewers are watching the late night news program. We are not sure whether the late night news is losing viewers, and even if it is losing viewers, we do not know what caused it. What we need, instead of a brief summary of complaints in a similar period, is a survey to the viewers and trend of numbers of viewers.

In conclusion, the evidence given by the business manager are so weak that we cannot be sure that the station should increase the time to weather and local news. What we need instead is specific facts that exactly question the situation of the late night news.