The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, hereafter the company, assumes that according to a recent report from the marketing department, while the company is producing good movies as the percentage of good movie reviews were increased last year, fewer audiences attended to the company's movies last year. While tempting, this argument made by the director mistakenly overlooked important factors that might have affected the decrease in movie audiences.

While the director is assuming that the decline of movie watchers of the Company's movies is because of lack of public advertising, some questions are needed to be answered. Last year there was the lowest attended people who watched the company's movies. In order to see what caused this problem, we need to see general scope of the movie industry as a whole. Maybe it was the company alone that had lowest attended people, it was entire movie industry that had lowest attended people. Due to development of new technologies and services that use them, people are not going to theaters to watch movies. They could download movies from home or use services like Netflix to watch them. It was just fewer people attended to theaters. We need to see exact profit analysis that shows where they are profiting and what media people are preferring. Moreover, this could have resulted in part due to the economic downturn, people were not affluent enough to go to watch movies.

The number of total movies that were produced last year is also remaining unclear. If the total number of movies that the company produced last year was lowest in any other year, then the number of audiences could also be the lowest as not many people can attend to the movies by the company. This small number of movies may cause the increase in good movie reviews, as a small number of total movies and a small number of good movies would easily get percents increased. Even if they made good movies and reviewers were discerning, there are other factors that could cause the lowest attendance, but not from lack of advertising; not only made the company good movies but also other companies made even better movies. We also need to see how much they are spending their advertising budget and where compared to other companies. increasement of budget alone does not guarantee the success of the advertisement. There is a chance that they are using sufficient budget but they were not perspicaciously spending.

Although good movie reviews are good, that alone does not guarantee that they are good for the public. This means that the increase of advertising budget alone, and lack of good advertising were only factors that could save the company. While the public cares about what experts are reviewing, public's penchant for purchase might not exactly correlate with the expert's view. The public has their own preference that is sometimes criticized by the experts. The company last year might have produced movies that are apt for experts but are not for general movie watchers. It is possible that the movies were adequately advertised. The movies were just not enough for the public last year. Good movie reviews do not mean that movie will be successful in marketing. Some successful movies were actually criticized pungently by movie reviewers.

In conclusion, the increase of the advertising budget alone will not save the company. There could be other reasons why the company's movies were not selling in theaters. We should look for other reasons that could explain the situation. Just increasing the budget of advertisement alone will not increase the people watching the company's movies. Rather, it could be just an extravagant move that the company made.