The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer argues that over the past two years, there has been an decrease of business over past two years, and this is mainly because the popularity of skateboarding and number of skateboarders in Central Plaza have increased for past two years. While it may seem tempting at first glance, this argument has many unanswered questions to have predictied outcome as the writer hopes to achieve.

First, the writer unwarrantedly assumes that the downfall of their business in Central Plaza over past two years is mainly because of the increased number of skateboarders in the Plaza. There could be other reasons why the business is not as fruitful compared to two years ago. Increased number of skateboarders may not act alone as the key for this devestating effect. There might be a undergoing nationwide economic recession two years ago that keep goes on that makes customers to save their spendings. Moreover, there might be a new mall nearby that is better and cheaper in goods that they sell making the Central Plaza less competetive. We also need to question how is the business in the Plaza is decresing. We need to know whether number of the visiting customers are decreased or stores’ profit is in downfall because cost has increased. Maybe the stores in the Plaza are selling products that are not popular anymore.

Moreover, we need to know why liters and vandalls are increased in the Plaza. This is mainly because we need to know exactly why people are not visiting the Plaza compared to two years ago. If amount of liters and vandals have increased inside the Plaza and the surroundings of the Plaza, this factor alone can make customers to not to visit the Plaza. Moreover, if this change was dramatic compared to two years ago, the neighborhood people may have moved out of nearby town and that made the Plaza less lucrative. Other explanation is also possible. If liters and vandals are not cleaned out regularly, we need to ask whether the Plaza is properly managed. Customers usually less prefer malls that are not properly managed. If basic management was poor, then marketing efforts such as advertisement would have not promoted properly.

Last but not least, the Plaza should ask whether they are following trends in the market. As writer argued, the popularity of skateboarding had increased dramatically last two years and the number of skateboarders in the Plaza has also increased, while the profit of the Plaza has decreased, the stores in the Plaza are not following the trend: skateboarding. If the market has changed to pro-skateboarders, and the Plaza is not earning money as before, then they are failed to meet the trend. If this was the case, prohibiting the skateboarding itself will be a fiasco for the mall. We need to know that is trending the market at this moment. Moreover, at least many skateboarders are visiting the Plaza to skateboard, and the profit is in downturn, the stores might have wrong taget customers. We cannot assume whether people who enjoy skateboarding are the ones who do not have enogh purchasing power. We only know that there are many skateboarders. We need to know about them in more details, such as gender, income, age and so on. We cannot simply group them as “skateboarders.” They might be future customers, in other words.

In conclusion, we do not know the suggestion from the writer would have resulted in the result that the writer hoped to be. This is because there are so many unwarrented assumptions that the writer has made and those assumptions, not questioned reasonably, would have backfired. With thosed unanswered questions to such assumptions, there is less reason to follow the writer’s recommendation.