The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government,
industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.
In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or
examples that could be used to challenge your position.
Whenever people argue that history is a worthless subject or that there is nothing to be gained
by just “memorizing a bunch of stupid names and dates,” I simply hold my tongue and smile to
myself. What I’m thinking is that, as cliche as it sounds, you do learn a great deal from history
(and woe to those who fail to learn those lessons). It is remarkable to think of the number of
circumstances and situations in which even the most rudimentary knowledge of history will turn
out to be invaluable. Take, for example, the issue at hand here. Is it better for society to instill in
future leaders a sense of competition or cooperation? Those who have not examined leaders
throughout time and across a number of fields might not have the ability to provide a thorough
and convincing answer to this question, in spite of the fact that it is crucial to the future
functioning of our society. Looking closely at the question of leadership and how it has worked in
the past, I would have to agree that the best way to prepare young people for leadership roles is
to instill in them a sense of cooperation.
Let us look first at those leaders who have defined themselves based on their competitiveness.
Although at first glance it may appear that a leader must have a competitive edge in order to gain
and then maintain a leadership position, I will make two points on this subject. First, the desire to
compete is an inherent part of human nature; that is, it is not something that needs to be
“instilled” in young people. Is there anyone who does not compete in some way or another every
single day? You try to do better than others in your school work or at the office, or you just try to
do better than yourself in some way, to push yourself. When societies instill competitiveness in
their leaders, it only leads to trouble. The most blatant example in this case is Adolf Hitler, who
took competition to the very extreme, trying to prove that his race and his country were superior
to all. We do not, however, need to look that far to find less extreme examples (i.e., Hitler is not
the extreme example that disproves the rule). The recent economic meltdown was caused in no
large part by the leaders of American banks and financial institutions who were obsessed with
competing for the almighty dollar. Tiger Woods, the ultimate competitor in recent golfing history
and in many ways a leader who brought the sport of golf to an entirely new level, destroyed his
personal life (and perhaps his career - - still yet to be determined) by his overreaching sense that
he could accomplish anything, whether winning majors or sleeping with as many women as
possible. His history of competitiveness is well documented; his father pushed him froma very
early age to be the ultimate competitor. It served him well in some respects, but it also proved to
be detrimental and ultimately quite destructive.
Leaders who value cooperation, on the other ahnd, have historically been less prone to these
overreaching, destructive tendencies. A good case in point would be Abraham Lincoln. Now, I
am sure at this point you are thinking that Lincoln, who served as President during the Civil War
and who refused to compromise with the South or allow secession, could not possibly be my
model of cooperation! Think, however, of the way Lincoln structured his Cabinet. He did not want
a group of “yes men” who would agree with every word he said, but instead he picked people
who were more likely to disagree with his ideas. And he respected their input, which allowed him
to keep the government together in the North during a very tumultuous period (to say the least).
My point in choosing the Lincoln example is that competitiveness and conflict may play better to
the masses and be more likely to be recorded in the history books, but it was his cooperative
nature that allowed him to govern effectively. Imagine if the CEO of a large company were never
able to compromise and insisted that every single thing be done in exactly her way. Very quickly
she would lose the very people that a company needs in order to survive, people with new ideas,
people ready to make great advances. Without the ability to work constructively with those who
have conflicting ideas, a leader will never be able to strike deals, reach consensus, or keep an
enterprise on track. Even if you are the biggest fish in the pond, it is difficult to force your will on
others forever; eventually a bigger fish comes along (or the smaller fish team up against you!).
In the end, it seems most critical for society to instill in young people a sense of cooperation. In
part this is true because we seem to come by our competitive side more naturally, but
cooperation is more often something we struggle to learn (just think of kids on the playground).
And although competitive victory is more showy, more often than not the real details of
leadership come down to the ability to work with other people, to compromise and cooperate.
Getting to be President of the United States or the managing director of a corporation might
require you to win some battles, but once you are there you will need diplomacy and peopleskills.
Those can be difficult to learn, but if you do not have them, you are likely to be a shortlived
leader.