In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing

and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be

used to challenge your position

Although the above statement says that imagination is far more important than knowledge in most professional and academic realms, it is short-sighted to hold such a belief as completely true. Such a dichotomy does not reflect reality, especially in the ever-analyzing and critical worlds of academia, where the point is to question what is given in order to evolve a theory, whether philosphical, scientific or business practices.

Instead, a combination of imagination and knowledge is crucial in professional and academic fields. Without knowledge and an in-depth understanding of what has come before, imagination is not grounded and has no relevant basis for the subject at hand. The same is true without imagination and creativity: if a person or team is completely knowlegeable in the history, contexts, and people in their respective fields, but lacks the imagination to take the field or project to the next level, then you only have a stagnant historian who never tries anything innovative.

Some may say that knowlege is more important than anything else because without it, a person, group or company can have no proficiency in their field, and therefore cannot compete with their peers or be critiqued by their peers so as to improve. Their competition and peers will instead not be interested in the processes the unimagative, knowlegeable person is engaging in. With some knowledge and imagination, a person can use what they know and apply it towards what they hope to discover.

On the other hand, many say that imagination is far more important than knowledge. Without the constraints of knowledge, mistakes made for lack of knowledge may turn out to be great discoveries. Likewise, if a person, group or company is thinking "outside the box," that is outside the constraints of a certain field with its cultural taboos and whatnot, who knows what they may come up with. This is too idealistic, though, and unrealistic, too. At least a basic supply of knowlege on the subject will greatly compliment any creativity if the discoveries are to be of any specific use.

In agreeing that a combination is necessary, one also must recognize that we should avoid extremes to be the most productive. If someone is too heavily well-read and fluent in what has been done in the past in their field, and has been taught to follow precedent, creativity will suffer. The same is true for the student of a truly creative type. If they are taught to always be capricious and be completely creative, something may be discovered, but it may not contribute anything to the field initially focused on. In this case, a person needs to have some knowledge in certain fields to see what is possible.

Without any knowledge on a subject, imagination will likely flounder and amount to very little that is of use - and it will not be of use to others in the field. Without imagination, knowledge is stagnant and ceases to push the industry or field forward with new ideas and discoveries. Therefore, a balance of the two, not necessarily equal, but a balance all the same, is necessary for the ultimate productivity in most professions and academic fields.