The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author is making his or her argument that by participating in Easy Read Speed Reading Course, hereby the Course, will be beneficial to the Acme Publishing Company, as there are positive aspects that were discovered from other companies. Thus, the author is arguing that Acme also has to provide their employees the Course in order to get similar benefits. While the argument is tempting at first glance, there are unwarranted assumptions that the author is giving without any reasons that makes the author’s argument unwarranted.

First, the author is stating that the improved reading speed will also increase the information that oneself can absorb as mentioned in the recommendation. There are some example to back up this argument; a single employer could read 500 page material within two hours after attending the Course. However, we cannot guarantee that improved reading seed alone will increase in the information absorbing. While that person had read that material within faster speed, we at this point that that person has absorbed entire information. It is possible that that person had only read the pages by skipping while earning nothing from it. We have to evaluate, while the author did make a assumption that reading alone will absorb the information, whether that person has adequately absorbed the information. We cannot guarantee that just a faster reading speed will bring the wanted results from the author.

Second, while the author is arguing that improvement in reading skills, with the effect of attending the Course, as one person had promotion within shorter time. We do not know that whether that company is similar to Acme, and that company itself is reliable source. If size or other aspects are not similar, then Acme would not have similar effect Moreover if that company is so small that there are only few people in that company, it could be relatively easier for that person to promote. Even that person had some improvement in reading skills by attending the course, we do not know whether that person’s other abilities have helped in promotion. The author does not mention any of these aspects and simply assume that the Course and the improved reading skills will bring the expected results. Different industry could differ the results.

Last but not least, the author is arguing that attending the Course will be quite simple because they are located in Spruce City and it is only three week course. However, we do not know at this point that whether that city is approachable with Acme. While the author is assuming that the two locations are close enough for employees to attend the course, it might not be the case. Acme could be too far away from that city. Moreover, we do not know that three week class is a viable option for the Acme. If that course requires full day, then workers will have to loose that weeks, they will not be able to work. While the author is making an assumption that the course will be short enough and is close enough for Acme, there is no evidence at this moment to conclude as the author did.

In conclusion, the author is arguing with unwarranted assumptions so that the conclusion that the author is making is unjustified with his supports. These unstated assumptions without any warrants, will not yield the result that the author is hoping for. We need more explanations and supports to follow the author’s argument as a whole.