The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee-a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the editorial, the personal director of Acme made a prequisite to take Easy Read Speed-Reading Course to augment their reading skill in less time consumption. They attribute Easy Read Speed-Readingcourse for volubility speaking and think that it will save their time which will ameliorate the productivity. However, their conclusion can be justified by answering some questions which are given below:

First of all, is their any mention that employees of the company can't read fast? It can be happened that, the boy in the passage has the skill to read a passage in a short time. They didn't show the work performance of the employees before and after the course. For this reason, It is incongruous to evaluate this.

Secondly, do they say that their course make employee's speaking fluently? In other words, do the employees of the Acme company read with correct prounciation and save time? Employees may be read at a great speed but it can be happened that they does their work incorrectly. Because of this, they can't understand overtly and to resolve these things they will spend surpass amount of time.

Third but not the least, is there any mention that their lackings of the productivity is because of consumming time very much in reading? Reagardless the speed of reading, it can be happened that their is not enough manpower or their is some problem with their machines etc. Their shortcomings are not described and found out in the editorial.

In brief, I think there is some falw in the conclusion of the passage and to evaluate this the opponent of the argument have to answer the above questions clearly and properly.