The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company."Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly im

The argument tells about the benefit of Acme company based on Easy Read course. There are mainly 3 stated or unstated assumptions based on which the recommendation from personnel director is written. These assumptions are mainly relied on the effects on workers ability to perform for the company.

First, the article impose that 'One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours'. But, there is no evidence about the graduate read ability without the course, which fails to certify that the course is liable for increasing read ability. The graduate who has not taken the course may have read ability than the course taken graduate.

Hence, this assumption is flawed to support the author's claim.

Second, the article ascribe the gain of one graduate from assistant manager to vice president, which is the impact of the course. But, to reach vice president from assistant manager does not only depends on read ability. There could be many several factors which can affect one graduate work position. Such as, overall performance of the graduate, experience or skill of the graduate or is the graduate is capable for that position or not. Hence, the personnel director fails to give this case as an example on the counter of company's effect on the course.

Third, in the article it is said that, the information absorb ability depends on faster read ability. Albeit, it is not always true that if one person's ability of information absorb is high, he will be more dependable to support his company's benefit. Not only information absorb ability but also some other factors like employees technical ability, handling tough situation, management the team etc.

In the conclusion, the assumption made by the author is questionable, because he fails to provide appropriate support for his assumptions on company's benefit through taking the course. The author should provide more valid and dependable information which can provide additional support for his made assumption.