Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

If a society no longer regards any living man and woman as a hero, perhaps that is due to the sensationalism that attempts to reveal every detail of the life of the popular characters who are subjected to the media's scrutiny. Considering that human nature is vulnerable to selfish desires, it is likely that only a few heroes can survive such close investigations. On the other hand, unlike the majority of people who blindly trust what the media says, there are some intellectual people who understand that distortions are frequently made in the process of making spotlight news that would attract the viewers' attention. Thus, I disagree with the given statement.

It is not difficult to name celebrities who were once considered as a heroic character, but no longer are remembered as an exemplary person but are rather thought as a crook or swindler. A stem cell researcher, Dr. Hwang is a compelling example that showed manipulated research results with the fraudulent intentions being revealed by a group of producers' investigation that no government officers or other scientists though to question. As seen in this example, due to his fabrication, Dr. Hwang was labeled as a false hero by the media.

On the contrary, sometimes television news disappoints people with its exaggerating and subjective opinions. Although only a few people understand the truth behind the image, there are still some thoughtful individuals who strive to correct the misleading news that attempt to propagandize the vast majority. When television news broadcasted the embezzlement of the former president of South Korea, Noh Mu-hyun, some people were skeptical about the stories of investigation considering it as the media's political play in favor of the ruling party. In this case the media happened to throw the former president of South Korea, Noh into a dilemma, which led him to his death.

Furthermore, since heroic characters are often those who step forward to advocate beliefs rejected by his or her contemporaries, people scrutinize their innovative or avant-garde ideas. For example, the sacrifice and dedication of Mother Theresa had been headline news many times; she had been strongly criticized. However, with more than a million missionaries and supporters working on her behalf to aid people in need, it is very difficult for the media to tarnish her heroic image. In this sense, Mother Teresa is a heroine who survived the media's scrutiny and thus leaving her name as a saint.

Due to the fast development of communication technology, it has become more difficult for celebrities to keep their privacy from the public; nevertheless, the speaker's assertion is unlikely to be true.