The following appeared in an email sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre (CST) of Bardville asserts that by instituting a program similar to Avon Reporatory Company's "Free Plays in the Park", the CST will be able to attract new audience members and increase its profits. The marketing director seems to believe that because Avon has had a 10% increase in profits since it instituted a program in which they perform plays in the park for free, that the Classical Shakespeare Theatre will experience a similar increase in profits if it institutes a "Shakespeare in the Park" program. However, this conclusion assumes not only that the "Free Plays in the Park" program caused Avon's increase in profits for Avon, but also that the CST would be able to replicate Avon's success. Before the management of the Classical Shakespeare Company implements the marketing director's recommendation, they need to answer several important questions that will help them determine whether this plan is likely to have the predicted result.

One of the most obvious questions they need to ask is whether Avon's increased profits were the result of its "Free Plays in the Park" program. In order to answer this question, they would need to know whether Avon's increased profits came from increased ticket sales at Avon's regular shows and whether the rise in ticket sales came from new customers who had a good experience at the "Free Plays in the Park" program. It's possible that Avon's increased profits were the result of factors other than increased ticket sales that happened to coincide with the "Free Plays" program (e.g., lowering operating costs or increasing revenue from concessions). If Avon's increased profits are actually the result of increased attendance, CST would still need to determine if increased ticket sales resulted from an increase in the quality of shows or actors performing at Avon or some other factor besides the "Free Plays in the Park" program.

Another question that could shed light on the marketing director's recommendation is whether what worked for Avon will work for the Classical Shakespeare Theatre. This is an extremely complex question since there are a huge number of variables at play. For example, if Avon specializes in affordable, familyfriendly shows with simple sets and costumes, they may not only have an easier (and cheaper) time than CST in adapting their plays for performance in the park,but their target audience may also be more likely to attend both the "Free Plays in the Park" and their regular performances. On the other hand, if CST typically produces lavish productions with bigname actors and high ticket prices, it's possible that it will be difficult and expensive to stage their plays outdoors. It's also possible that CST's target audience consists largely of people who are unlikely to attend an outdoor performance. If this is the case, the program is much less likely to be successful in increasing CST's profits.

Also, even if both theatres' park programs are free, its still important to consider each theatre's usual ticket prices. If CST's usual ticket prices are much higher than Avon's, they may also have much less success than Avon in translating attendance at their park performances into attendance at regular CST performances. If Avon's tickets are relatively inexpensive, people who enjoy the free performances in the park may be willing to buy tickets to other Avon performances. In contrast, if CST's "Shakespeare in the Park" performances are free (like Avon's "Plays in the Park") but their usual ticket prices are very high, the program could have little positive affect on ticket sales. Even if people who attend the "Shakespeare in the Park" performances have a great experience there and want to see more plays, they may not be able to afford tickets to CST performances. The program could even result in a decreased sales of tickets to their regular performances if some CST audience members decide to save money by attending the free performances instead of the paid ones. Considering the potentially high costs of launching the program and staging plays in the park, the program could actually be a financial disaster for CST. Without clear answers to these questions and other questions, it is impossible to evaluate the director's recommendation.