In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing

and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be

used to challenge your position

Some may argue that imagination is most important in most professions and academic fields, as new ideas are the ones that have and are changing the world. When valuing imagination over knowledge in most professions and academic fields, there are assumptions that creating new ideas are important than being abreast of current flows, and creating new ideas are required in every field and academic field. While this argument has its strengths, I personally believe that knowledge and imagination both are important in most professions and academic fields. This mainly because the knowledge is the basis of professions and academic fields, and creativity comes in afterward. We need to know what is existing around the fields that we are contributing. We need to know what other people in the field are doing and what processes are required for the field.

People may argue and challenge that breakthrough such as the introduction of smartphones and computation technologies such as artificial intelligence that are changing our life to better ways may be a sign that creativity is the one that counts. This may be true, as those technologies have changed our lives tremendously. However, these technologies were developed based on the previous technologies. Without a deep understanding of previous technologies, we would not be able to find out new technologies. Although some may think that imagination and knowledge are separated, the reality is that these two are very closely related. If knowledge was not important at all, then there would be no need for literature reviews in academic papers. Academic papers are written in order to give a new idea to the world and in such papers not only are new ideas presented but also existing literature is fully covered beforehand. If knowledge was not important, and creativity may come from nowhere, why there are so many schools that teach students, and the government is spending a huge amount of money for them? Why do professors concern curriculums of their classes and department? It is because learning should come first so that they can think beyond the current situation.

While some may think that imagination is important to most people in most professions and academic fields, as creating new ideas are valued. However, being knowledgeable is also valued as well. This happens when people have to deal with difficulties immediately. Though there may be some ingenious methods to solve problems, that requires some time. However, experienced people tend to suggest possible solutions quickly based on previous knowledge. This is mostly the case in agriculture. Wise old people know what to do in every aspect of difficulties because they have experienced all of them. While New ideas are also effective and changing the world, it requires some time to be realistic. Moreover, in order to develop tools for real difficulties, we need to know what difficulties are. Without such knowledge, new technologies will be useless as they did not consider the actual fields. This is why researchers survey the site and consult with the people with field experience when they develop.

Then people may ask then knowledge is an only important factor. Imagination, undeniably, is also an important factor as well. We need to develop own theory in order to broaden our perspective. Knowledge alone cannot guarantee success in professions and academic fields. In professions and academic fields, people are valued based on their outcomes. In professions, this outcome is based on the profit, while in academic fields, the outcome is the number of papers. These results are made based on imaginations. Profits are from new business models that created efficacy in the processing procedures, based on creativity and knowledge that analyzed previous business models. Without any changes, companies will not be lucrative forever, as there are competitors. Papers are there to issue new theories to the academic world. The Same, mundane paper that lacks freshness in ideas will not be excepted to academic journals. Perspicuous researchers will write an article that has exploited literature while suggesting great new thinkings and thus contributes to the field.

In conclusion, we need both knowledge and creativity in order to be successful in most professions and academic fields. Either knowledge and creativity alone will not help one to be successful. We need to be creative while fully knowledged.