Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

It is important for humans to live with diverse species not only because we are living in the same planet with them but also their existence will enrich our knowledge about diverse creatures. However, there are many species that had existed and extinct; many of them are endangered as well. Some of them are endangered because of our activities. We humans have destroyed nature in the past for the development of ourselves. Although we are well awarded compared to out past, we are still making many species in danger. While some might argue that we are only in account with the species that we humans have endangered to extinction, as we do not know much about the natural selection process. However, I contend that we are in account to every species that are in danger of extinction, as we can benefit more from saving them.

First, we have to admit to the fact that we may have not endangered all of species that are in a chance of extinction; there are natural selection process that we cannot control, as we can see from the Darwin’s theory. As Darwin has proved in his books, there are selections in nature; some of species are “naturally” fallen behind while others may evolve and prosper. Moreover, we must admit that we should not do much about this selections that are happening in the nature of naturals. However, as we have resources and ability to save endangered species, we should try to save them from extinction.

Although natural selection is in nature, that does not mean that we should give up and do nothing about them. Those species might have been naturally extinct. However, we can learn from those extinction process and existence of those species; why they are naturally extinct, and what can we learn from not naturally extinct them. There are no such thing as what if in history. However, if we make those potentially endangered species to live longer, exist longer, then there are what ifs in our history of biology, and that diversity will teach us some precious lessons that we could not have learned otherwise. Some may argue that there are not enough resources for every species that are in danger of extinction. That is true. However, we can gain much more benefit from saving them.

Last but not least, the most important fact here is that we cannot clearly divide which species are endangered by human activities. As I have mentioned above, we are living in the same planet, the planet which we do know which has resulted some results. Although many social scientists have tried to analyze which actions has resulted some fact, the rigorous researches has not yet clearly analyzed the real cause for our actions. This would be similar to species that will extinct; we do not clearly know which species are in danger of extinction of human activities. There might be latent cause that are resulted by humans that made such specie in danger of extinction. We have to try our best to save them, if we have done something quite ago that made them extinct.

In conclusion, we have to try as much as possible to save endangered species to exist as we can benefit from living with them, and we can learn many lessons from having them with us. Moreover, we, at this stage, do not know which of our actions have made them to the degree of extinction.