Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Is supporting the people in need more important than giving fund to artists? To pragmatists, funding for the arts may seem to be secondary to the immediate needs of the suffering population from poverty. For this reason, when the local government announces its new plan to construct a somewhat luxurious city hall building, they organize a protest to stop it from spending money for useless purposes. However, if our world is full of pragmatists, no great civilization could have been constructed or advanced. Artists are those who generate inspirations necessary for promoting artistic creation and cultivating altruistic minds in the heart of people. Without such creative and philanthropic mids, our society would accomplish less toward constructing monuments.

There are some governments that have to look after a devastated population suffering from the lack of basic needs such as food and a more secure and safe social environment. Of course, when a whole society is devastated by political turmoil, economic crisis or natural disasters, the government should focus on solving immediate problems.

We should understand the fact that contributions of the artists are second to none, though our society is not giving due importance to their work of creation. A nation that weighs the cultural aspects of art can better flourish in its economy. For example, countries like France and the U.S. allotted a certain amount of their annual budgets for the promotion of art successfully enticed greater numbers of tourists to their museums or art performances, which eventually lead to creating more revenues in tourist industries and business. With income generated by tourism, the whole economy of a nation can be better and in the core of such cultural activities is the great work of artists.

Ironically, those in needs of financial support can be better helped by the artists with philanthropic minds. It is well known that a pop star, Michal Jackson, holds a world record for most charity with monetary donations through sponsorship of non-profit organization. Fundraising art performances are frequent in the major cities where benevolent artists are collaborating to generate otherwise hidden impulses of society, and they play a key role in moral awakening by enhancing the humanistic values. In short, artists have made great impacts on our society by arousing more altruistic spirits instead of merely pursuing their selfish goals.

The statement that it is inappropriate - and, perhaps, even cruel - to use public resources to fund arts when people's basic needs are not being met is generated from a myopic view to understand interactions among artists and the general public. I would say artists are the one who supports society as a whole instead of pleasing those of the privileged class. Moreover, our society should not be understood by the dichotomy; the haves and have-nots.