College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To earn money, to get a job is the one of the most important things to do in one of human’s life as we need to earn money at least to sustain our lives. Thus, we may consider which job to get, in a prospective perspective, as College is one of the deciding factors to get a job, we may consider which discipline we want to study, which field we want to enter before we get a job. Moreover, we may consider which field is most prospective when we are deciding which field we must enter. Thus, some might argue that we need to see the availability of job in that field, for college students, to decide which field that those students want to participate in. However, I contend that college students should not decide their field of majoring only dependent on job availability as there are many other factors that decides job market.

Some may argue that it is wise to think about the future job market when deciding current job market situation. However, that may be true but not be true when we think about job market situation from some time ago. First, we have to assert that we, at current time, do not know any knowledge about the future, and current situation has not many meanings about the future, as future always changes. For example, we did not know that artificial intelligence will be very lucrative and prominent field before even 5years ago. Most of us did not know anything about deep learning in artificial intelligence. Most of us, however, thought that computer may do something in the future, but we did not know exactly what we will expect for.

So, as we do not know what will happen in the future. Although we may think that we know much about the future and ourselves, we do not know about them. It is the same for the college students, they do not know anything about the future. Future may change. For instance, some time ago there was some time when we needed to have telephone operators when we call to long-range phone calls. At that time, some people might think that to have a job, which equals to have an experience in that field that might seem promising as we all needed such operator to have a phone call. However, that is no longer needed as we had an advance in technology which supplants that job position.

To argue as a hole, we do not know about the future, and the future may change drastically, and that is supported by the history. For college students, as we do not know about the future, they must decide which field they want to study as we do not know that will be the future.