Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People love controversial issues, and mass media tend to follow those notorious news. The effect of scandal may vary by types, aftermath of huge scandal can be greatful. Thus, some might believe that scandals can focus attention from the public and make huge effects. However, while I do not disagree with the fact that scandals can draw popular voice’s attention, I personally disagree to the fact that scandal alone is the only factor that can attract people’s attention and no speacker reformer can achieve such phenomenon.

First, there are historical cases that a single writer or reformer created enormous popular voice nationwide, and even beyond national borders. In case of Thomas Paine, one of founding fathers of United States of America wrote very controversial book that led to the independence of former British conlony, and that country became the world’s strongest counrty. His book literally changed world history. In his book, “Common Sense,” he argued that it is common sense that small country with tyrannical monarchy cannot rule the continent that will form a democratic government. His book hugely drifted Americans and public sentiment had become favorable toward the independence from England. Other exmple from the history could be Karl Marx. Marx wrote very impactful book that shaked the world history in 19th and 20th century. In his book, “The Capital,” he argued that capitalism is uneven system that exploit the working class, the public, and therefore it should be reformed. This argument created huge debate and social, political movements all around the world, and many monarchies and capitalist countries had turned into communism. These refromers and ideologists have succsefully drawed attention of the public.

Second, in case of politics, single leaders can create controversy and successfully gain the support of the people. One negative, but succesful in gaining political authority is Aldolf Hiter. Hitler, after the First World War, by manipulating the germans, successfully won on the election, creating Nazi Germany. His personal belief and public speaking drawed attention from the tired, creastfallen germans to vote for them. The result, as we can learn from the history, led us to the Second World War, and many young soldiers and innocent civiians suffered from it. However, there are still academical and public interest on Hiter, based on the actions he took, and the fact he is the one who did that. Researches on why he started war and rumors and conspiracy theories around his trivial personal histories are out there with much attention. These cases can also be found in case of populist leaders gone dictators. They manipulate the popular and use them a tool to gain power. They are very controversial and attention gatering, as they argue in a strong tone and provative vocabularies and insiuating argument to get the power against current political system. A case of Juan Ferron come to mind. Once a savor of argentineans, he is also being criticized as a populist who broke the country.

I do not contend that the scandals does not have any power that can draw attention from the public. People have tendency to seek out for those scandals. In case of Edward Nixons’s Watergate Scandal, people actually did not care about political corruptions in elections. Only rumors were spreading out, but most of them were regareded as one of conspiracy thories. However, as we know, those rumors turned out to be real in action, and Nixon had to resign, could not finish his job as the president. This was one of the most attention attracted moment in American history. A whistleblower can also make scandals, scandals following a exposure. Edward Snowden’s whistleblow that revealed the surveilance system ruled by NSA, PRISM, led to huge debate not only in the States but also in the world as NSA underwent enormous surveilance.

In conclusion, while I personally do not disagree with the fact that scandals are powerful enough to draw attention from the public, it is not the only way to do so. As we can see from many historical examples, we can also acknowledge that leaders, reformers, and even some conscience voices can also draw attenntion from the public, while some may have led to scandals afterwards.