True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

In living one’s life, it would be beneficial to be truly successful, as that would mean that some point in one’s life, that individual has acquired some results. While many would probably agree with that fact, it would be controversial which is the true barometer for the success itself. Some may argue that the initiative and goals may indicate the success while others may argue that the result that an individual as gained will be the true indicator for success. While the two arguments may seem equally persuasive, I would contend that the true success cannot simply justified; we need to consider many factors in order to determine the indicator of success. Simply there could be different situations to detail the successiveness.

For instance, individually, in every day life, we might see the terms of the goals one sets for oneself could be the indicator for success. As Socrates has said that “Well begun is half done,” properly set goals could indicate such individual is being successive in ones everyday life. We do not need some evaluation from others whether our lives are being successive; if we wield our utter result in our lifetime, with properly set goals, then we could argue that properly set goals for ourselves could be a indicator for being successful. We do not instant evaluation from others; we, individuals are evaluating ourselves.

However, there are other instances that properly set goals might not be the only indicator for being successful; the case when the result matters the most for given period of time. In business, we need results that indicate that we are doing proper business and earning money. While properly set goals may indicate that we are on the right track for the business, it hardly can be everything. While properly set goals may proper to the sense of ourselves, it may not proper for the customers, who will decide which business to contact and to deal with them. Goal standard in this sense, could not be the only matter for us. We need proper evaluation to see that whether we are doing right business. For example, many startups today are trying to survive every day with many difficulties. While their goals might be of philanthropist, their business may not be successful. There are many cases in business that their goal is not humanitarian and not justifiable, but to just earn money, but they are being successive; many corporations in emerging markets such as China and Vietnam, and companies like Foxxcon, while making proper money, their goals are not that lofty.

Last but not least, of some people may think that academia might be so lofty and they are researching on lofty goals, it is not true; the model for business and academia might, although it seems it is against basic instinct, is quite similar, they both need results. While that result is money in the case for the business, it is research results and academic papers in academia. There is a famous adage in academia, to perish or to publish. With no end results, graduate students cannot be Ph. Ds, and Ph. Ds cannot be professors. Their set goals alone is not the only indicator of being successful. While a graduate students with lofty goals, such as to save every personnel on the earth, without results, that graduate student is hardly a successful graduate student, and cannot reach further. Here, as same as business models, we cannot survive without results, despite the properly set goals were satisfying.

Truly fine set goals may and may not guarantee a end results. While some good goals may lead us to successive results, some may not. If results are the most important factor for us, then we need something more than goals. However, if we do not instant results, as we have seen above, properly set goals may indicate true successiveness in our lives, and that may lead us to successive life in the future. However, when we need to prove ourselves and to impress others or at least to maintain ourselves based on the end results, goals alone cannot justify the successiveness; we need to consider results, which is beyond the starting point. As Socrates had said that well begun is half done, when we need to finish something, start, even a good start is only half way done.