Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Some may argue that as media develops and their coverage has developed as technology developed, the once thought of “heroes,” despite their gender, may not no longer exist; as media scrutiny may try to find every fault of someone regarded as a hero. This argument does have its ground. However, I would like to contend that there are still heroes who may successively bore the media scrutiny. There may be some cases, though, that people once regarded as a hero has fallen into bad reputation due to media, especially in recent years; but that would not harm the fact that we still can have a hero.

First, although some might have fallen into bad reputation as media scrutinize these heroes, there are still newly come up to the public as a hero. Moreover, thanks to the development of media, we can even find out more individuals as heroes; simply put, we can find more news regarding new-coming heroes. For instance, we can now find articles from all around the world about a brave firefighter who saved so many lives due to his or her distinctive ability during the mission. However, in older days if that firefighter was from some remote island from nowhere, then we would hardly recognize him or her as a hero. Maybe some locals would appreciate the braveness of that firefighter from listening to the local news. However, as technology developed and access to news have become wider and deeper due to technological development, we can hear the news from all around the world.

Furthermore, new social media can now show us someone who deserved to be a hero but neglected due to the ignorance of media. Nowadays everyone who has an access to the internet can post their feelings, photos, and news or some messages. It can be true that as these media developed, it could possibly harm the reputation of some once called heroes; it is more likely to shed light to darker side of the world with private media, and people can easily find a fault with them. However, this mean that the once called hero was not a hero, that person was just falsely gained fame with their misbehaviors; they were not heroes. True heroes without such fault can still rise, and this case even without the help of media. True heroes can bear scrutiny of other people finding their faults. Moreover, as people acknowledge their faults can easily compromised through this way, they will even care more out their behaviors. Although at this moment, that some heroes are fallen apart due to tight scrutiny, some others may be aware of this fact and do nothing wrong, which may mar their reputation.

Last but not least, wrongly accused fame or values are always in target for scrutiny and there are revaluation of every aspect of famous, or powerful people, such as heroes. History is always questioning whether a person deserve a right reputation; for some, their reputation had fallen, while some forgotten heroes may arise. This was happening even before the development of media scrutiny. For example, president’s policies can always revisited, and evaluate at different standards regarding the newly risen rules or ideas. This can and should applied to the heroes as well. Media scrutiny cannot hamper the rise of new brave, heroes; we had and are and will try to evaluate historical and current people regarding their values. For wrongly accused people should not deserve their fame. This is not only applied to media but broadened to maybe historical way of scrutinizing.

In conclusion, new media scrutiny will not diminish new heroes. Some people, who deserved to be a hero, will come again and again as we can learn more with technology; and those people should always be evaluated, and this was happening even before this era. Myths should not exist, but heroes should and will exist.