Claim It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero Reason The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

The statement claims that in today’s society, it’s impossible to have a living hero, since the media will finally ruin their reputation. I partly agree with that. It is true that media sometimes reveals the hero’s negative news and eventually destroys their reputations, but it doesn’t result in the consequence that there will not be a hero in today’s society.

Nobody is perfect. Thus, if a living hero in today’s society, such as a celebrity, does not behave carefully and do things that are not expected by the public, with media’s extensive exposure, his or her reputation will finally, undoubtedly be ruined. For example, Sun Yang, a world-class swimming champion, was once regarded as a national hero of China for his excellent swimming performance. However, the incident of his violent violation of doping control was reported by hundreds of media, and he did not even show regrets for the whole thing. Thus his reputation was completely ruined by his improper behavior and arrogant attitude. Bill Clinton used to be a political hero respected by the United States, whereas, due to his affair, which is generally morally unacceptable to the public, was widely reported by the media, his political image was basically destroyed.

What’s more, the media can also create heroes by reporting positive news about inspiring events done by individuals. So to some extent, media even create more heroes than humans ever before. At present, the whole world is suffering from the epidemic of coronavirus, thousands of doctors and nurses risk their lives, fighting against the disease as heroes. Fortunately, thanks to the broadcast of the media, we can easily learn that there are many touching stories and there are many heroes worth us to admire. In the past, we can hardly learn stories of heroical individuals, since the speed of information transmission was very slow before the invention of media. Therefore, in fact, the media even make more living heroes than destroying them.

However, even though some heroes made some mistakes and be reported by the media, we still cannot deny their achievements in their specific fields, which originally made them a hero. Elon Musk, founder of SpaceX, was criticized by media that while he claimed himself as an environmentalist, his company, SpaceX, has launched countless rockets into space, which absolutely burnt countless fossil fuels along the way. But we cannot deny that SpaceX can stimulate the progress of human civilization, which eventually made him a hero. Mark Zuckerburg, founder of Facebook, was criticized for expelling the co-founder of Facebook. The media described him as a ruthless man. Nevertheless, his brilliant creation, Facebook, has benefited millions of people, and that was enough to make him still regarded as a hero.

Therefore, from my point of view, it is still possible for today’s society to regard a living person as a hero, regardless of the media’s gigantic exposure. People who made a great contribution in their specific field will still be respected as heroes.