Last October the city of Belleville installed high intensity lighting in its central business district and vandalism there declined within a month The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district but the rate o

In this argument the author concludes that we should stop paying for bicycle patrols and spend that money on installing high-intensity lighting in the city of Amburg. To support this conclusion, the author points out that the city of Belleville installed this kind of lighting, and vandalism there decreased promptly. However, the author’s argument is problematic in several aspects, making the argument unconvincing as it stands.

First, the author concludes that install high-intensity lighting is attributable to reducing vandalism. However, the sequence of the two events does not sufficiently prove that the former caused the later one. For example, it is possible if the government of Belleville made efforts on providing more job opportunities, and raises the stability of society. Or the police force in that city has strengthened greatly, and people who used to vandalize public assets are now afraid to commit crime, since they may be more possible to get arrested under this serious circumstance. Therefore, the author should answer these questions above to make the argument more persuasive and impeccable.

Second, the author indicates that police patrols on bicycles contributed nothing on declining the rate of vandalism. From my point of view, it is unfair to give this conclusion so early. Perhaps the patrols have not adjusted to their new pattern of work yet.once they get familiar with their new type of work, they will be more effective on maintaining social order. Besides, due that vandalism always takes place in dark corners, perhaps it is difficult to search for these crimes during bicycling patrols. What’s more, although the rate of vandalism there remains constant, perhaps the local crime rate is already low enough, so any measures will not have a great impact on reducing the local vandalism rate. To strengthen the argument, the author would have to provide more information about relationship between police patrols and vandalism rate.

Third, the author suggests that we should use the money that is currently being spent on patrols to install these lighting throughout. Even if installation of high-intensity lighting is effective and necessary, we don’t have to install them all over the city. We can only install them in places with a high rate of vandalism. Since it will be an enormous, unnecessary public investment. Besides too much strong light will produce light pollution, which has a bad impact on the sleep quality of residents at night. Thus, the author should promote a more effective solution to solve this problem.

Although the conclusion suggests that we should replace patrols with lightings is comprehensible, some questions should be addressed before the author validates the argument. Had the author delivered more answers to the questions, the conclusion and the argument might be more defensible.