"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that high-intensity lighting should be installed in districts in order to diminish the rate of crimes. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that the city of Belleville installed high-intensity light during last October and vandalism decline drastically. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether vandalism and crime decrease during other months. One point that should be considered is that the author just points out the information of a month. Indeed, it could not be reliable and accurate owing to the fact that the information is restricted and there is a wide range of data through a whole year to investigate the effectiveness of high-intensity lighting. It is also important to say that, maybe the city was not overcrowded during the October, so, in this situation, the crime rate will reduce greatly.

Furthermore, the author asserts that Amburg City has controlled its district by police patrol bicycles and crime or vandalism remain unchanged. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if high-intensity lighting could diminish the rate of crime In Amburg City. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that we should take different conditions of two cities like location, population, districts and so forth, into consideration. Maybe there is only two or three district in the city or maybe police officers by bicycles are not dexterous and adept enough to handle these situations successfully.

Putting the two assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author by installing high-intensity lighting the city could survive the reduction of neighborhoods. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if high-intensity lighting will be able to revitalize the neighborhood. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the author does not show accurately whether inhabitants leave the city for the crime rate or not. Indeed, maybe they migrate to other places because of better facilities and living condition. Or perhaps leave the city because of greater opportunities, who knows?

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.