Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Whether the public can approach to the information that political leaders have, could be a debatable issue as some may argue that the public should not be aware of every information that leaders have, while others may say that public should know everything. Each side has their own grounds and has their own strengths and weaknesses. From deciding from the two options, I would argue that there are types of information and some are not adequate for the public; that information should not be acknowledged to them, while other information should clearly showed to the public.

First, there are some information, when released could yield some danger; that danger could be for some group of people or the entire public. For example, covert operations should not be acknowledged to everyone as the operators will be compromised. Although the world without any such jobs would be wonderful but the time has not moved toward that side. We are living in this world that requires such operations. To disclose such information would be dangerous. Moreover, information regarding terrorist should also not be disclosed because terrorist can easily penetrate the national security with given information. Small groups are relatively easier to change their plans compared to larger organization, the country. This would end up in a disaster for the public. For these information, the public may not have access to for better results.

However, other information should publicly acknowledged. Political leaders may corrupt and they always need to be in check. As leaders has more authority and power, as they are leading the organization, that could mean that with more power they can ruin the organization with given power. Leaders can improve the organization, but at the same time they can more easily ruin their organization. If the organization is the country and the leader is political leaders, then the failure would mean the end of that country. History has thought us the lesson that political leaders can easily make their people miserable. They should be always in check from the public and public need information in order to do that. The case of Argentina and Nixon come to mind. Without public attention, leaders can easily fall into wrong answers.

Last but not least, public need to be informed so that they can make better choices and know better about themselves. Without objective information such as statistics, public while in democratic country they have hard time deciding their future; no information means no standards to compare. If people have more knowledge about themselves and how the country is working out based on the information they can get from their leaders, then they can also think and surmise their future. If political leaders do not open any information to the public, then public will not know how they are doing. We always need objective feedback so that we can look ourselves in a objective way. Not only the leaders should be objectively supervised, the public should also aware of themselves. The one of the best ways to do it is with the help of objective information. It would be hard for the public to gain information by themselves as they do not poss the prowess that the leaders have.

In conclusion, I contend that the public should have full access to the information that the leaders have with some exceptions in information regarding national security. The public and the leaders should always look out for what they are doing wrong. Everyone needs check and balance with feedback, with information to not to make a wrong decisions.