The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memo the director of student housing at Buckingham College argues that in order to attract more students to the college, he suggested constructing new dormitories. To support this suggestion, he points out the current trends of growing enrollment and its projection that it will double over the next 50 years; and the fact that the average rent for an apartment in their town has risen in recent years. Although his assertion sounds plausible at first glance, careful consideration reveals that it is based on groundless assumptions derived from poor information.

First of all, it is possible that the director is mistaken about the cause and effect relating to the needs of new housing at Buckingham College. Perhaps the increased average rent for an apartment can be a temporal problem. If more apartments are constructed in the following 50 years, the average rent off-campus would be a lot cheaper as a result of an increased supply. Simply counting recent years to make long-term predictions fails to account for other possible outcomes. Unless further evidence is provided to support the director's assertion, costly investment into more dormitories carries high risk and is rather unwarranted. In order to enhance this argument, the director should further investigate if the students still prefer to stay on campus housing even when the off-campus housing is available with reasonable prices.

Furthermore, the director states that attractive new dormitories would increase the current growing number of students enrolling at Buckingham. This notion is problematic because it assumes a constant rise in enrollment while ignoring reasons behind prospective students growth. Perhaps it is good education system supported by excellent professors that is responsible for the current enrollment trend. In this case, assuring growth through the maintenance of proper education deserves more focus before considering expensive construction projects. Overlooking important factors that may influence investment outcomes is a critical mistake that needs to be addressed. Therefore, the director should first conduct a more

elaborate study that guarantees consistent enrollment growth instead of hastily spending Buckinham's financial resources on new dormitories that may be vacant.

Finally, the lack of sufficient information in regards to town size and the cost of rent among different neighborhoods further weaken the argument. Averaging rent of an entire town that is considered quite large could be a generalized point of view as various districts may offer affordable housing to out-compete new on-campus apartments. The director fails to provide specific comparable data and therefore his or her case rests on a generalized view based on poor assumptions.

In sum, the director's conclusion has several holes in its reasoning. To strengthen it, he or she should provide sufficient evidence that will rule out all the above doubts and questions. Further research relating to student preference, rental markets, and investment risks should be conducted before attempting to claim such needs at Buckingham college.