When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author is making an argument that Stanley Park, while largest in size, is not heavily used compared to older times. It may look at the first glance, the author’s point might seemingly adequate. However, the author is justifying his or her argument based on some unspecified assumptions, and that may make the conclusion of the author invalid.

First, the answer for Carton Park could not be the answer for the Stanley Park. While the author is arguing that by locating more benches, as Carton Park is offering, the Stanley Park will attract more people as Carton Park. The author might, while not stating, assume that the situation of the two park might quite similar so that the same answer could yield the same results. However, as mentioned above, we do not know how situation is different as Carton Park is located in business district while Stanley Park’s location is not mentioned. By only setting more benches alone will not guarantee the popularity of Stanley Park. We need to compare directly and how two parks are different, especially their surrounding areas.

Furthermore, there are other reason, other than not so many benches that led the unpopularity of the Stanley Park. As mentioned in the argument that the park has opened a long time ago and popular but now the situation is quite different. The author is assuming that the attractiveness of Stanley Park is still same as the old days. However, this may not be true if we consider other factors. The facilities of the park may deteriorated due to time lapse. People will not want to go to the park without good facilities. Moreover, the surrounding area of Stanley park may changed so that people do not want to visit there. While the author does not provide any further information, we have no evidence that Stanley park’s neighborhood is good enough for the people to visit. Moreover, there could other alternative park nearby with good facilities and benches. Then, new benches alone will not bring out the result that the author is hoping for. The author misses all these information and simply assuming all the details and jump into the un warranted conclusion.

Last but not least, the author is simply arguing that the Stanley Park is no longer heavily used compared to the times when the park has opened, and now it is not that popular anymore according to the author. The author is only suggesting the video footage, that shows 50 average cars per day, and that is the sign of unpopularity. However, we do not know whether the cars is the only approachable options for the Stanley Park, and people could visit there without cars. In order to find out whether the park is not heavily used as author is arguing, we need more evidence that show that people are less visiting the park then before. The author is arguing based on unwarranted premise.

In conclusion, the author is providing no information about details while assuming unwarranted premises to jump into the conclusion without justifiable supports. Without considering such information, the end result for Stanley Park may not equal to that of Carton Park. We need to seek more information so that the assumptions that the author have made will be true and the result that the author hopes will come to Stanley Park.