The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Training young people for future society is challenging, as we have to prepare young people to change the future that those young will live in. The attribute of leadership is one of the key factors in training since we always leaders. However, between which attributes, cooperation or competition, that we should we instill in young people could be questionable since, for some time, it may seem fair to regard cooperation is a most important factor, as leaders they might have to work with others. However, on the other hand, it may seem equally justifiable to assert that competition is a single most factor for the leaders, as they have to compete with others when leading the society. While both arguments have their own reasons, I personally regard both traits are important for the leaders. Good leaders tend to ask perspicuously, balancing between the two traits, exploiting both fully. By asking which traits are important in training of future leaders, we must seek what traits are important for leaders.

For leaders, it is important to have a sense of cooperation, since they are not only acting behalf of themselves but also taking the matter of organization they are leading, including every people related with it. As we humans are living in society, we cannot act alone. This is meaningful in two ways. First, there are networks of humans within organizations. That means in each organization there are rules, norms, and members like a society. Moreover, the organization itself is also living in the network of organizations. An Organization cannot independently exist by themselves. As a result of highly developed technologies and globalization, a single organization cannot handle every aspect of the fields. This is happening in both commercial industries and academic fields. Companies need vendors and partners to sell products while in collages, interdisciplinary works widely appreciated. There are even joint researches between schools and companies, as we can see from the case of Artificial Intelligence. As researches are becoming sophisticated, budget and number of the researchers are becoming so enormous that single agency alone cannot endure them all.

On the other hand, competition is also an important value for the leaders. This is simply while organizations have to cooperate in their set of values, they also need to develop reasons why they are there in the chain of networks in their field. Without competence, and without substantial technology, knowledge, and innovation, there is no room for them. The assumption behind the need for cooperation is that there is a need for each organization in organizations, even if they cannot work alone. Though they may not independently exist, there should be reasons for dependency among them. In case of interdisciplinary researches, if a single department is totally useless, then there is no need for the cooperation among the two, this could be similar in industries as well. Therefore, there should be competition between the two, ones want to remain in the circle and the ones who want to become a part of it. Leaders in the future have to have this in mind, and survive in this competition.

Some might ask that then is to instill the young both the matter of competitiveness and a sense of cooperation. When asking this question, there is an underlying assumption that seemingly contrasting behaviors can be unequivocally instilled, and competitiveness and cooperation are competing values that cannot be reconciled. However, as I have mentioned above, two facts may act together. This is because the groups of compete and cooperate may differ, in the case of ones within networks and the ones who want to become a part of networks. Moreover, there may be the case of the ones competing a while ago may become beneficial to each other as industries are evolving. Leaders should expect every aspect of the field so that they can suvive in the field. To win or to lose is not important. What matters the most is who to benefit from it, not to decide dichotomously, act supply. Seemingly competitive groups such as Apple and Samsung are competing in mobile phones, while Samsumg is supplying chips to Apple.

In conclusion, for leaders of the future, both sense of competition and cooperation is needed as there are no definite rules for the survival of the fields. They have to act perspicaciously, not to simply assume easily. What matters the most is to get benefit from it, to do what is good for them while flexibly decide between the two.