The following appeared in an e-mail sent by the marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville.

"Over the past ten years, there has been a 20 percent decline in the size of the average audience at Classical Shakespeare Theatre productions. In spite of increased advertising, we are attracting fewer and fewer people to our shows, causing our profits to decrease significantly. We must take action to attract new audience members. The best way to do so is by instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program this summer. Two years ago the nearby Avon Repertory Company started a 'Free Plays in the Park' program, and its profits have increased 10 percent since then. Therefore, I recommend that we start a 'Shakespeare in the Park' program of our own. If we do so, I predict that our profits will also see a significant increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The marketing director of the Classical Shakespeare Theatre of Bardville(CST) is arguing that instituting a 'Shakespeare in the Park Program' will solve the problem that CST is having. This is based on the previous fact that Avon Repertory Company(ARC) had 'Free Plays in the Park' program that led ARC's profits increased about 10 percent since then. This argument, however, does not adequately answered the questions to make sure that CST will gain profit from introducing the new program. The manager not only assumes that ARC could have increased its profit by introducing a new program to the park, but also CST will successfully replicate their increase in profit.

The First question that needs to be answered is related to the main assumptions that the manager has. We need to ask questions whether 'Free Plays in the Park Program' has gained increased profit to ARC. We need to know other factors that might have influenced the profit of ARC. In case of the ARC, there might have been an increase in nearby neighborhood that might have led to the increase in audiences. It was not a new program alone that gathered audiences to the Theatre.

Secondly, even if the success of ARC was based on the introduction of a new program, we still need to question whether CST can replicate the success of ARC. When the manager assumes that CST can replicate the success of ARC, there is an assumption laid that the milieu of the two would be similar so that the free new program will bring profit to the organization. However, there is no guarantee that the business background for the two could be similar. We need to question what exactly brought to ARC that led to an increase in profit and such factors are similar in CST.

Last, but not least, we need to answer whether CST's previous marketing processes were working so that introduction of the new program will bring lights to the organization. If their marketing methods were wrong at first place, as we can see that despite increased advertising, CST was lost in attracting people. If it was their marketing process that failed to properly advertise themselves, then an introduction of a new program could similarly be a fiasco for them because people will not know whether CST has a new program to show. Thus, we should know whether increased advertising of CST is working properly, such as whether they are advertising in felicitous methods.

In the end, unless questioned perspicaciously, we cannot estimate whether an introduction of the new program will bring profits to CST. The director's haphazard assumptions, unless answered properly, might bring a pernicious result to CST.