The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today we are no longer in need of prolonged horse-riding trips to reach to move around cities. Such convenience can be credited to the luxurious airplanes with turbojet engines and automobiles that made travelers move around conveniently and more safely to their destinations. Another remarkable innovation in information technology, smartphone, contributed to expanding the working boundaries of most people. Without question in my view, these two major technologies innovated in the past century, indeed, contributed to encouraging people to be stronger and more independent individuals, who could have never dreamed in a century ago and therefore I agree with the speaker.

When viewing the negative impacts of the advanced technology that made us live in a more luxurious and convenient social environment many would complain that because of driving habits we all became to develop weak and feeble muscles in our legs, and the lazy mind that always relying on the ability of fast and accurate mechanical calculation of computers prevent us from sharpening critical thinking skills. Of course, it is true to a certain point; however, there are far more merits than the disappointments that we come to have with the machines.

Modern day people who navigate over the sky with airplanes cannot be said they are much weaker human beings than those who had to rely on the natural abilities of horses to travel a long distance. The unimaginative giant flying machine allowed us to travel the world in a day and therefore those who maneuver airplanes to quickly land across the oceans are much stronger persons than those who had to tame horses to travel the world. The advent of automobiles also contributed to economic growth around the world that brought about material affluence. With this material prosperity, more individualistic ideas have become pervasive. Thus, modern technology has made great impacts on developing more independent individuals.

Moreover, one of the most innovation that has contributed to expanding the working boundaries of the most people, is smartphones. Traditional cell phones already have remarkably helped people to communicate; people can talk over cell phones regardless of their locations. However, smartphones have extended the working boundaries by enabling people to do many works that traditionally required several preconditions. People can now email, make presentations, and even make banking transactions whenever wherever they are through smartphones via applications. During the days when smartphones were not available, people had to be at a specific location where certain devices are available, and rely on other people for their assistance; they could not carry out such works without them.

As having seen in the above, modern day's people are much stronger and more independent in terms of their mind or abilities. Luxuries and conveniences that modern day people come to enjoy due to the cutting edge technology. This comfort has resulted to spoil our diligence to the extent that our minds lose their keen sense of judgment and physical strength.