The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government,industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

The author of the prompt argues that co-operation is a better mindset to adopt than is competition: it allows for better preparation for the workforce. I disagree with this view for two reasons, namely, competition forces us to work efficiently and think innovatively- both of which cannot usually be achieved by means of co-operation.

Competition is very important for producing new ideas. Indeed, it is when we compete with each other that we feel compelled to think outside the box. This is because competition leads to a platform where we are forced to vie with each other for profits. There is more accruement of profits when we are able to provide something unique- something that is not commonplace; hence, the need for competition.

Inevitably, the very competition that leads to innovations also encourages us to provide the best services to our customers. Private companies are the best examples of this phenomenon: they compete with each other to offer the best customer services, which ultimately allows them to triumph over their public counterparts. It comes as no surprise, for instance, that everyone prefers private hospitals to public hospitals because of the former's efficient nature. Such a fact is indicative of the fact that hen a sense of competition is instilled within us, there is likely to be more efficiency in our day to day activities, and hence more customer satisfaction in our services.

Competition, nevertheless, can be very detrimental to a society. When adopting a mindset of competition rather than co-operation, we inevitably come to view most of our counterparts as rivals rather than individuals with whom we can co-operate for the betterment of society. As a result of this hostility, we are unable to accomplish goals that can only be accomplished by means of co-operation. Here the example of climate change is most prominent: companies refuse to accept government enforced environmental regulations because of the fear of losing out on profits, and hence losing out to their competitors. On the contrary, had business organizations co-operated to accept a certain standard of regulations, climate change could be more easily tackled. Such is the problematic implications of adopting a competitive mindset.

Overall, however, it is clear that competition is much better in producing results than is co-operation. Indeed, although it leads to a divisive mentality on the part of competitors, which can potentially be harmful in certain cases, competition allows for the existence of an innovative and efficient workplace that is able to offer better services for society at large