The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council."An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study repor

The author of the prompt has argued that colds are the primary cause of absenteeism. Consequently, the author agues that people should eat more plant benefecia to reduce colds and thus to reduce absenteeism. Such an argument is weak for a number of reasons that shall be discussed below in this essay.

The primary factor that undermines the author's argument is that the author makes the unwarranted assumption that absenteeism in schools and workplaces is a result of catching colds. For this assumption to be deemed valid, surveys need to be conducted. That is, abseentees need to be asked as to why they do not show up for work/school. Indeed, it is very much possible that people remain absent for a host of other reasons which have no relation to catching colds or even being sick. Moreover, none of us are certain that the colds in question are so weakening that they prevent people from being present in their works. Accordingly, the assumption that the cold is primarily responsible for absenteeism cannot be taken at face value, unless appropriate surveys are conducted.

In addition to conducting surveys, the authorities should also consider the quality of workplaces/schools in relation to absenteeism. That is, do workplaces/schools have proper environments that would encourage the workforce/pupils to attend to them. For one thing, people are more likely to prefer their homes than the workplace/schools if the latter do not provide a friendly atmosphere. For example, a pupil is less likely to attend school if he or she has to constantly put up with bullying from his or her class mates. Similarly, an employee is less likely to attend the workplace if he or she has constant brawls with the authorities of public offices. Thus it is imperative to investigate the environmental quality of workplaces/schools in relation to absenteeism.

Finally, it is also important to evaluate the workload of workplaces/schools and see if the daily workload is discouraging people from appearing in schools/workplaces. Indeed, a hectic workload can easily tire the everyday worker/pupil, such that he or she simply does not have the energy to show up to their respective offices; staying at home becomes a better option consequently. A number of surveys thus need to be conducted in order to find out whether the heavy workload is a discouraging factor in appearing for work.

Overall, it is clear from the points raised in this essay that the cold cannot simply be assumed to be the cause of absenteeism. A host of other factors, such as the environmental quality of workplaces/schools and the latter's daily workload, can contribute to the absenteeism in question; the only way to find out the actual cause of absenteeism is by surveying the population in question.