"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

It has been argued that the most effective way of preparing young people for various fields is by teaching them to be co-operative, not competitive. With some qualifications, I agree with this view and will attempt to elaborate on my reasoning in this essay.

First, it is clear that co-operation allows people to achieve that which cannot be otherwise achieved. Indeed, when we co-operate with each other, we are essentially sharing our experiences and knowledge on a particular matter to solve a particular issue. This allows us to more effeciently tackle the issue at hand and through different angles. On the other hand, when we are working on a matter all by ourselves or along with likeminded individuals, which often is the case whe are competing, we are devoid of the knowledge of our colleagues/competitors; accordingly we are less likely to achieve much; nor do we learn from our mistakes given our lack of interaction with others from our field.

Second, co-operation can allow us to make more societal contributions as we pursue our tasks. Here the topic of climate change and its relation to industrial organizations is quite revealing. Had industrial organzations co-operated more with each other, they would have been able to cut down on greenhouse emissions that are damaging the world at large. Yet, because they have decided to adopt a competive mindset, the animosity between them remains, preventing them from coming together to pursue the common good for society; such would not occur had they been instilled with the urge to co-operate.

On a final note, I should admit that competion incites us to push ourselves to a level that co-operation does not. Indeed, in competitive environmentd, such as in schools and businesses, we are compelled to address our weaknesses and at the same time think innovatively. Indeed, many innovations, such as the Iphone, have come out via competion between firms rather than co-operation, just as so many students have improved themselves by competing with their peers.

Overall, however, I still believe that co-operation, not competion, should be encouraged amongst youngsters, since it allows them to more effectively tackle problems and also aim for societal well being. It is only when such results do not follow from co-operating should we adopt a competitive mindset in order to push ourselves to the limits.