People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

The author of the prompt has argued that people's behaviour are largely determined by forces that are beyond their control. In a qualified sense, I agree with this general proposition. In this essay, I highlight the reasons as to why most people's behaviour are predetermined, while also noting the exception to this general phenomenon.

First, it is clear that our customs have a deep effect on our behavioural patterns. That is to say that our method of approaching particular matters in life are predetermined by the culture in which we grow up. I do not believe that it is chauvinistic to say that certain cultures are better than others in certain matters;work ethics is perhaps a great example. Indeed, in certain cultures, people are encouraged to be hardworking, whereas other cultures are more lax when it comes to physical labour. Thus, if we find ourselves unsuccessful in the long term, we can perhaps blame our cultural upbringing for not having instilled within us the urge for success, that is, the urge to work diligently and audaciously.

Second, it is undoubtedly the case that economic realities inevitably pre-determine our behavioural patterns in life. An individual growing up in a elitist family will not be the same as any other individual in society. In most scenarios, it is the case that the former is more prone to arrogant and bossy behaviour than the latter whose life remains untouched by the negative aspects of upper-class societies. At the same time, it is also the case, that an upbringing in a relatively poor society can instill within us a sense of animosity for those who are more fortunate than us; it can make us envy everything in life because we have so little to begin with, so little to be content with.

On a final note, I should admit that certain societies can undermine the cultural and economic effects on our behaviour. This is only possible through state-wide liberal arts education that compels students to think outside the box. In fact, I am convinced that it is only when we are exposed to a wide variety of literature that we can overcome the obstacles of culture and economics. By being acquainted with moral literature- whether philosophical or religious,-and by reading about the pressing issues plaguing the world, we can control our behaviour for the better.

Overall, however, it remains the case that cultural and economic realities, that remain beyond our control, pre-dispose us to certain forms of behavioural patterns; but, by acquiring a liberal arts education, we can overcome these seemingly uncontrollable factors in our lives.