The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f

The author of the prompt has argued that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevents us from becoming enduring human beings. With some qualifications, I agree with this general proposition for reasons that I shall discuss in this essay.

First, it is clear that we simply cannot become stronger unless we face difficult situations. Challenging situations compel us to push ourselves to the limits, enabling us to develop physically and mentally. But such situations are rare in the comtemorary luxury oriented world. Just take the case of our ancient ancestors who were mostly hunter gatherers. Because they had to constatntly search for food, they travelled great distances and overcame many physcial dangers on the way. Compare such a lifestyle to that of ours in which we simply drive, not even walk, to the nearest shopping wall. Simply put, we are no where close to achieving the physical capacities of our ancestors, given the technology that surrounds us.

Second, modern luxuries are making us increasingly dependant on technology, making us more vulnerable to changing situations. For instance, can we imgaine a single day in which we are not using our google maps to reach the workplace? Yet, what if our maps stop working in the middle of the road? Clearly, we shall find ourselves in a very difficult situtation given our lack of a sense of direction. On the other hand, our ancestors could easily make their way back home because they never depended on an external element (i.e the map) to begin with. Truly, modern luxuries, particularly technology, have reduced our independancy as individuals.

On a final note, I should admit that modern day luxuries in some cases enable us to expereince more challenigg situations. This is particularly the case on a mental level. Indeed, when the washing machine frees us from washing our clothes, we may be loosing on some physical activity, but may make up for that by engaging in more englightening activiites such as solving mathemetical puzzles. In other words, modern luxuries can allow us to spend more time on intellectually challenging activiites than had been previously possible, strenghtening our mental faculties to an extent

Overall, however, I still do believe that modern luxuries reduce our independance and weaken us as individuals. Although they can free us to pursue more intellectually edifying activities, modern luxuries disincentivize us from physical exertion and make us more dependant on external elements to achieve our goals.