People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

The author of the prompt has argued that people should only undertake risky actions after they have fully considered the consequences such actions entail. With some qualification, I agree with this general proposition. In this essay, I highlight the reasons for adopting this view, while also noting that sometimes it is important to undertake risky activities even when the consequences of such actions remain unknown.

First, in undertaking actions that are essentially risky, we are able to attract scant support for our activities. Indeed, whether it is a new business venture or investment in real estate, we simply cannot gain the social support- in this case, capital-to undertake our actions so long as they are risky in nature. It is only when we carefully consider the consequences of our actions, and thereby remove the ambiguity surrounding the seemingly risk factors involved, that we can convince others to support us in our endeavours. Thus, it is imperative that we carefully consider the consequences of risky ventures in order to attract the support that we need to be successful in the long term.

Second, it is clear that embroiling ourselves in risky activites can cause ir-repairable damage to our well-being. Indeed, when we undertake risky actions, we are basically sailing onto unknown waters. Our family, our income, our prestige, our health-all of these could be compromised when we undertake actions whose consequences we are not well aware of. For instance, we may simply loose our entire wealth if we were to invest in the real-estate industry while not being aware of the fact that housing prices are currently depreciating; hence, the importance of considering the consequences of risky actions.

On a final note, I should admit that sometimes it is simply impossible to be fully aware of the consuequences of risky actions, since the action in question is so unconventional in nature. Yet, if we do not undertake such an action, we may not realize the gains that unconventional ventures have produced throughout history. Indeed, how many business organizations have started out without any cognition of the risk factors involved? The CEOs of such companies then became millionaires because the bad consequences of their unconventional ventures never materialized. Thus, sometimes it is important to take risky actions without even being aware of the potential consequences involved.

Overall, however, it remains the case that people should generally undertake risky activities only when they are fully cognizant of the consequences involved; rarely should they undertake risky ventures to achieve their gains.