In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the state

A work of art can indeed be deemed meritorious when it is understood by the masses. As I shall argue in this essay, even though the merit of some works can only be understood by their specialists, it is most often the case that we are only able to measure the merit of a work of art by means of the public’s appreciation of the work, which in turn is dependant on them understanding the art in question.

The way we measure an object’s educational value, or its merit, is at stake in this discussion. It is undoubtedly true that an object’s merit can most often deduced from the public’s reaction to it. That is, if the general people were to highly appreciate a work of art or a film, then we can easily claim that the work in question is considered meritorious. When taking this factor into account, that a work’s merit can most often be deduced through the extent of the public’s appreciation of the work, it is inevitable that a work of an art or a film has to be understandable and thereby appreciated by the public in order to be deemed meritorious in value.

In addition, it should be said that the aforementioned method of measuring the merit of a work of art is in fact objective in nature. That is to say that it is only when a work of art is understandable or communicable to the people does it have a true educational value. Indeed, if a work of art is too abstract, then it could be argued that the artist simply lacks the skills to communicate abstract concepts in his or her field in simple terms, such that the general public can understand. Such a skill is required in every specialized field, whose knowledge the general public is unable to access until a meritorious specialist is able to water down abstract concepts. Accordingly, it is clear that a work of art needs to be understandable to the public to have merit

Nevertheless, it is still true that some works of art are meritorious in nature even though they remain incomprehensible to the masses. The merit of these works can only be deduced by the specialists who are able to appreciate the subtleties that make up the work. In such cases, the contents of the actual work matters more than the massses’ reaction to it; however this is a rarity.

Overall, this essay has argued that the most objective criteria for measuring the merit of a work of art is through the public’s reaction to the work in question. This is because a work of art can be deemed to be of educational value primarily when it is able to communicate abstract concepts in simple terms, which ultimately means it has to be understood by the masses in order to be deemed meritorious.