Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with

The author of the prompt has argued that an interview based method is superior to an observation based method in understanding child-rearing traditions in island based cultures. The author comes to this conclusion based on the fact that the children of Tertia talked a good amount about their biological parents which indicated to the author that the previous conclusion reached through the observation based method- that children were primarily raised by an entire village- is inaccurate. In assesing this argument, I would like to argue that the author has not necessarily proven his or her argument as he or she has made unnecessary assumptions in reaching the aforementioned conclusion, and have also failed to adress other important factors that undermine the validity of the conlusion.

In the first place, the author seems to assume that children talking about their biological parents is akin to the former being raised by the latter. Such an assumption is unwarranted for we simply do not know as to why the children talked a good deal about their biological parents. If anything, we cannot be sure of the exact reason unless and until we ask the children as to why they prefered talking about their biological parents over other things. Given that the author has not even provided us the nature of the conversations, we can very easily dismiss the overall conclusion that the author has reached based solely on the interviews.

In addition, the author does not seem to realize that the children in question may very well be talking about their biological parents since they have never seen or spent enough time with them in the first place. Indeed, is it not common for us to talk about that which we dearly miss? In fact, it seems that had the children talked about things other than their parents, we could have concluded they were reared by them; they would be talking about something else that they earn for. On the other hand, when they are primarily talking about their parents, it would seem that they were rasied by a village, and long to see and be in touch with their parents..

Finally, it is clear that if we are to get to the truth of the entire matter, the parents of the island need to interviewed as well; they simply need to be asked as to whether they were responsible for the upbringing of their children. The children in question may not remember their uprbinging and it seems hasty on the author's part to have simply conluded their parent-less upbrining without even interviewing the island's parents themselves. Given that author's negligence on this matter, we cannot take his overall argument for granted.

In sum, the author's argument is flawed at best. It could be the case that the interview based method is better, as the author argues. But, to reach this conclusion, he or she has made unwarranted assumptions and have also failed to take into other factors that determine the validity of the argument.