Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take.

The author of the prompt argues that educators should offer those subjects that students are willing to study. This is a naive proposition as it fails to realize that students are prone to choosing easy subjects and are simply not aware of what constitutes a balanced education. Indeed, in this essay, I shall argue that teachers should primarily design curriculums and only rarely take advice from students on what to include in it.

It is important to note that students are always looking for the easy way out when it comes to their academics. This is partly due to the increasing workload and the banal manner in which study materials are taught. Indeed, it is very common to find students studying only for the sake of making a living, rather than learning- which is the ultimate goal of education. When this factor is taken into account, that students rarely are enthusiastic about their studies nowadays, it is clear that entrusting curriculums to students is not the way forward in providing them a balanced education: students will simply choose easy topics, and perhaps irrelevant materials, that will allow them to go through their academic days smoothly, but without substantive education.

Even if we were to assume that students are likely to choose a balanced education, it is very likely that they are simply inexperienced when it comes to knowing what is the right from of education. That is to say that they are simply not well-versed in different academic subjects to design a proper curriculum. In an age of increasing distractions- video games, movies, etc- the last thing that a student is likely to be acquainted with is academics. As a result, it is very important that curriculums are primarily designed by teachers who are more experienced in the field of education; their decisions in this matter should not be drastically influenced by the decisions of students.

It is nevertheless true- despite their inexperience and unwillingness in academic matters- that students are more informed of their strengths and weaknesses than are teachers. The latter spends hours with so many students, as a result of which he or she is unable to personally know any one student well enough to determine the latter’s strengths and weaknesses. In this case, then, we can say that that students will be able to make more informed decisions regarding their curriculum: they can better design it in a way such that their weaknesses can be addressed.

Overall, however, it is clear that teachers should primarily design curriculums, rarely taking advice from students in deciding what should and should not be offered; only then can a balanced education be offered to students.