Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The author of the prompt has argued that scientists should primarily focus their research on areas that are likely to bring the most benefits to people. In a qualified manner, I agreed with this general argument: although I note that sometimes scientists should venture onto obscure areas of knowledge that may not be very relevant for societal well-being, I highlight the reasons as to why scientists should focus on socially relevant research.

First, it is clear that scientific research needs to be socially relevant if it is to gain widespread acceptance amongst the public. The latter, in turn, cannot be achieved as long as scientific research is not directed at beneficial causes. Cancer research, for instance, is an unquestionably noble endeavor on the part of the scientists, primarily since so many people die of cancer every year. People undoubtedly admire medical scientists' painstaking research in this field, thereby giving scientific research the honor it deserves. On the other hand, if scientific research was primarily directed at matters of the past, the existence of dinosaurs for instance, then scientists would be primarily perceived as historians rather than as people who are able to address contemporary, pressing issues. Thus, it is imperative that scientific research address societal matters and thereby achieves widespread legitimacy amongst the public.

Second, it is undoubtedly true that the more relevant scientific research remains, the more it is able to attract the crucial fundings that are required to carry out any serious project. Indeed, how may projects have been undermined, or never even undertaken, just because scientists were unable to convince the public of the relevancy of their research, and thereby collect the funds necessary for the projects' success. Clearly, if we are to gain any valuable results from scientific research, then scientists have to have the equipments and other necessities that are required for their projects; they cannot achieve these necessities unless they focus on socially relevant projects that gain widespread acceptance.

On a final note, I should say that it is true that scientists should also research on topics that may not be directly linked to societal well-being. In this sense, space research, for instance, which many deem to be irrelevant, should be carried out. Indeed, it is necessary to increase our knowledge of science and we will be limited in our expansion of knowledge if we were to focus on only socially-relevant causes. Undoubtedly, scientific knowledge that may seem irrelevant now may very well become relevant in the future.

Overall, however, it remains the case that scientific research should primarily be directed at socially- relevant causes in order to gain the widespread acceptance and funding required for science to flourish; rarely should scientists venture onto research that is not related to the contemporary well-being of society.