The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University.

"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of professors."

Firstly, since the new procedure for evaluating professors by their students was started 15 years ago and the overall student grade averages have risen to 30 percent and plateaued at this value, it is unclear if there is actually a strong positive correlation between the two as the as the author claims. If it was indeed true, these grades should have risen steadily from year to year. Further, data should also be available to strengthen the argument that all the professors started assigning higher grades to their students. A professor, who is already efficient enough would not succumb to such p...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.