The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Homo-sapiens, the most evolved of the species on the planet today have come a long way since the past 2000 years. From an era of primitive tribes and warring clans, we are now in an era in which maximum emphasis is placed on peaceful and prosperous living. Modern society is built on the shoulders of the golden tents of co-operation and universal brotherhood. Hence, since competitiveness is a quality, inherent to human beings, it is cooperation that must be inculcated in the mind's of young people to prepare them for leadership in today's world.

For example, let us look at schools. What would be evident is how natural it is for a young student to pick up a fight with his classmate. He is merely reflecting his inner nature- which is human. He or she might be trying to assert his dominance on the fellow members of his species. So, it is up to his teacher to appeal to the student's better (or civilized) nature and encourage and teach him to work smoothly with his friends. As a student grows up, he sees around him a world, which requires him to be on his heels all the time. Be it sports or academics, there is immense pressure on him to succeed. This naturally instills in him, the desire to succeed. On the downside, this sort of cut-throat competitiveness greatly hampers his ability to work with a team of individuals. Hence, it would be a better investment on the part of colleges and schools to promote such activities which focus on team-building and co-operating with other individuals.

Further, the world is globalizing. The needs of the employer from their prospective employees are also changing. In job interviews, these employers look for candidates who are skilled at team activities and have strong social and soft skills. If, as per the claim here, the student has been brought up to be only competitive, the lack of ability to work in a team will be a major handicap for him at the workplace. Organizations -be it in the government, industry or other fields are always open to hiring candidates who they deem to be a "good fit" in their work environment. Even in admission to prestigious institutions all over the world, the admissions committee places a huge weight on how well the candidate can work in a team. While competitiveness of candidates can be assessed from standardized examinations and their academic transcripts, these are not pre-requisites for success. What ultimately matters is if you can co-operate and work in global teams.

As the world becomes more global, it is becoming a tight-knit community. There is a large focus on diversity and there is need to work in a diverse work environment. The team might be composed of members from different genders, age-group, sexual-orientation, ethnicity or socio-economic backgrounds. Hence, for one wishing to succeed in their jobs - be it in a big Multinational company or a wing of the United Nations or even in a research laboratory, the key to his or her success will lie in how good of a "team-player" he or she is.