The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability.

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument\'s conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The internet advertisement company's appeal to the businesses regarding the reasons for choosing the company's services takes the support of a number of insubstantial and weak arguments, rendering the appeal half-baked and questionable.

Firstly, the company uses a very specific example of a furniture Depot that sought the help of their services for internet advertising. This example has a number of weak links. For example, the argument does not substantiate as to what sort of help was asked of them. For all we know, the Depot could have asked the advertising agency for some technical support like to help prevent their website from crashing. Thus, this argument in no way bolsters the company's claim for utilizing their services since their help as an internet advertising agency was never sought of.

Further, the argument takes the example of a very specific business of Furniture Depot. What works for a particular business may not work for another. This argument could have been strong if it substantiated the claim with more evidence, like the variety of businesses that made use of the advertising company's services.

Secondly, the claim erroneously attributes the increase in the sale of the Depot to the internet agency's services. There is no evidence to refute the possibility that the increase in sales could have resulted from a multitude of reasons. For example, some promotional activity or discount sale or so on. It can be proven that the increase in sales was solely due to the advertising services if it can be shown that no other activity that could have bolstered the sales were undertaken by the depot last year.

Finally, the argument ends with a wild claim which guarantees that if a business uses the company's services, then the business can increase its profitability. While using internet advertising might increase the reach of the business on social media platform, there is no evidence that helps to conclude that these advertisements do reach their target consumers and eventually attract more consumers and increase sales. By using one specific example of a Furniture Depot to make such a mighty claim, the argument is not convincing enough.

Thus, by failing to provide more data regarding the reach of the internet company's advertising and their past successes (apart from one specific example), the argument fails as unreasonable and unconvincing.