The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument makes a number of unwarranted assumptions. It does not portray a strong premise for the conclusion that it makes, making the claim weak and questionable.

Firstly, the argument bases its recommendation on the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites. However, the argument does not give any evidence to support its claim as to why manned space flight is costly or dangerous. Further, the argument makes a generalization that, since a recent series of unmanned space programs were safe, all such endeavors in the future will also be safe. Further evidence regarding the successes of a long history of unmanned space programs could corroborate these claims. There is no clear or concrete evidence to compare the cost-effectiveness of an unmanned space program as against a manned program.

Secondly, the argument completely fails to consider as to why manned space programs are needed in the first place. The argument assumes that the only objective of a space program is to gather useful information. On the contrary, there are several space programs that send Astronauts for entirely different reasons - be it to resolve a crisis in the international space station or in such scenarios where the human brain - the most powerful analytical instrument - is necessary, like troubleshooting and debugging faulty machines.

Finally, based on the biased and flawed assumptions, the argument proposes that all the resources be invested only in unmanned space flight. This recommendation fails to consider that there are several space programs that are sent to space or different planets in search of life and to assess the possibility of life in outer space. It is unclear as to how such challenging missions can be achieved by machines, which have limited functionalities and no free meditation. Additionally, though it can be argued that, with the advent of artificial intelligence and such, the role of technology in space programs will increase, the role of man as the mediator or the controller of these machines cannot be replaced. And since the arguments in the letter provide no such evidence or line of reasoning, it is limited and flawed.