The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The famous baseball player Yogi Berra once said, "In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is." In a capitalist economy or an economy that is driven by wealth, the sole aim of big Multi National Companies in such economies is to make a profit. In theory, one may assume that a part of this profit which is accrued by these big corporations will ultimately reach the Government by taxation and thus can be used for the general welfare of the nation. But in reality, the truth is far from this.

Private enterprises usually cater to the interests of the rich and the powerful. It is all but a childish dream to imagine that, these organizations, that are run and controlled by the rich and elite would want to invest the profits that they created to promote welfare activities for the public. It is a common behavior of all such institutions that they do not invest in a cause which does not give them returns. In fact, the tactics adopted by these organizations to maximize profits is directly at odds with social welfare.

For example, consider the movie industry. Some of the big production companies that aim to maximize their profits end up increasing the run time of objectionable contents of sex and violence in their movies. They hope to increase the viewership and earn more money, but end up doing a disservice to the society by morally corrupting the minds of young viewers.

Another example is how organizations that want to maximize profit make their employees work for long hours. This creates dissatisfaction among the employees and in extreme cases leads to somatic or psychological problems. It is also not uncommon that the employers under-pay their employees to maximize their profit. Further, to make more profit, organizations could lower the quality of raw materials that they use to make products. They could also create false but attractive advertisements to trap the gullible consumers. They might even compromise on the health and safety standards of their products to maximize profit.

And to top all this, an organization which wants to be profitable at any cost will end up corrupting the administrative system. To receive favors from the Government officials, these big companies pay bribes or commissions to Government officials and in return, these officials become mere puppets for these corporations. This becomes a vicious circle, and the money that is trapped in this circle will end up never trickling down for public welfare. These corrupt organizations become so powerful that they become influential in even making policy decisions for the Government.

However, outliers, though few, do exist. Some of the big corporations are involved and encourage their employees to participate in community building and other such activities as part of their corporate social responsibility (CSR) program. It is a laudable trend. Some big names in the industry, like Amazon and Facebook, are well known for their CSR activities. However, this trend is yet to catch on. We see how CEOs of some of the big firms, like Bill Gates, who are also some of the richest people in the world are well-known philanthropists. They set up scholarships in their names or in the names of their organizations, or contribute to causes like environment and education. Thus, change, however small is happening. It is up to organizations - both big and small -to realize this and perform their role responsibly.